Hive Keychain DHF 2 - Week 18

in #keychain3 years ago
Authored by @stoodkev

social_keychainforhive.jpg

As promised in our proposal, we will post weekly updates to let you know what's going on regarding Keychain development.

Apple Situation

Since last week, I've mostly worked on fixing the situation with Apple. As you know, if you read the previous update, we are required to have a company developer account for this. To get this Apple account we of course need a company, but also a DUNS number and a website.

Progress this week :

  • The company has been incorporated in HK! Hive Keychain Ltd.
  • The website has been thrown together very quickly for the review process. Huge thanks to @nateaguila that sent me a design in a record time! It is available at https://hive-keychain.com
  • Have registered a local HK landline phone number (necessary for DUNS number obtention)

Next steps:

  • Receiving the company chop within a week
  • In the meantime I need to create business cards (also required for DUNS)
  • Once I've got both I can apply for DUNS (should take a week)
  • Once we get DUNS (probably 2 weeks from now), according to Apple, there are three ways things could go : transform my individual account into a company one (that way we can keep the App), create a company App and transfer the App (this way we also keep it), or they could decide to refuse both and I would have to recreate the App. They couldn't give me any information about the acceptance criteria, so let's wait and see.

I'll keep you updated on the situation

HBD Situation

Because the HBD is very much out of peg, Blocktrades and others have decided to prioritize the stabilizer proposal and lots of proposals stopped being funded. We are still slightly above the stabilizer, but I want to reassure that if we were to be unfunded until the situation is resolved, we will still continue our effort to develop Hive Keychain.

Mobile App

Because the paperwork and website creation took most of my time away, I only added two new requests available for dApps and started working on a third one :

  • Votes and Custom JSON requests are now fully implemented
  • Started work on transfer requests

Keychain extension

Latest version finally got accepted on the Chrome Store. Patience is key.

Download the Apps


  1. This is a first release and the Application is still in Beta. It has been tested extensively but it should not by any means be the only place you store your keys on.
  2. To import accounts quickly from your Hive Keychain extension to your mobile App, use the QR Code scanner by pressing the QR code logo:

On your extension, navigate to the menu (top right button), then to Manage Accounts and finally click on Show QR Code.

Discord

To communicate with us or become an Alpha tester, join our Discord by following this link :
https://discord.gg/3EM6YfRrGv

Or scanning this QR Code :

image.png

Core Team

@stoodkev : Lead Dev - Witness
@nateaguila : UI/UX
@yabapmatt : Founder - Witness
@aggroed : Founder - Witness


Support Hive Keychain development by voting for our proposal on PeakD (on the upcoming section)or with HiveSigner.

@nateaguila is set to 100% benefeciary for his help with the website design

Sort:  

Im currently using hive signer, never used keychain yet. Does it work good on my brave browser, how about the safety. I do not use any proper antivirus software, how safe is using keychain? I'm just new to this thing.

Keychain works well on Brave (I'm using Brave myself).
It's safe, opensource and thus auditable by the community. Over 11k users have been trusting us for two years now.

Keychain <3

Hey stoody my friend - long time no see :) im back in the race 😄

Hey man! Great to have you back! =)

Thanks for the heads-up bro. I'll give it a try. :)

I highly recommend it works very well and had no issues at all.untitled.gif

How to code a crypto app:

Step 1 - Get a landline

Lesson 0 on Blockchain 101.

Awesome work guys, any estimated time on when the browser will be integrated?

Thanks! It got sadly pushed back because of this administrative work but I'm hoping to be able to start Beta testing it in two weeks. Will take a bit longer for release (especially on iOS since I won't be able to push the update until the situation is resolved).