Hive Keychain DHF - Week 21

in #keychain4 years ago
Authored by @stoodkev

social_keychainforhive.jpg

As promised in our proposal, we will post weekly updates to let you know what's going on regarding Keychain development.

Keychain extension

This post comes a bit late as I wanted to make sure everything is working fine after the Eclipse, and since Brave users were reporting some issues.
It appears that the latest version (1.10.2.2) is working correctly but some users didn't get the automatic update.
That would be the case if you installed the extension manually from Github, in which case I'd recommend exporting your keys, deleting the extension and installing it again from the Store, in order to get automatic updates. You can then import your keys again.
Also it seems that older versions of Brave browser had an issue regarding automatic updates, if so, make sure your browser is up to date.

Mobile App

As previously mentioned, I am now focusing mostly on the mobile App, in order to aim for a mid-November Alpha version. Here's about this week progress:

  • Added a modal that lets user broadcast delegations
  • Added a modal that lets user see incoming delegations
  • Added a modal that lets user see outgoing delegations and edit them
  • Fetch Hive Engine tokens as well as the user's current balances for HE tokens
  • Started working on the HE tokens screen

Core Team

@yabapmatt : Founder - Witness
@aggroed : Founder - Witness
@nateaguila : UI/UX
@stoodkev : Lead Developer - Witness

Frequent contributors

@arcange - Witness
@quochuy - Witness


Support Hive Keychain development by voting for our proposal on PeakD (on the upcoming section), on HiveDao or with HiveSigner.

100% of payout is redirected to the DAO

Sort:  

I am proud that you are improving this important app every week.
It would be such a waste if it would just be a "safely store keys and check balance" app.

I was using the metamask app recently and noticed something pretty useful. You can collect the app to the browser extension without needing to input the keys, using a QR code.

This would make it really simple and would only require the password. Writing private keys on the phone is a pain.

I've already taken care of this ;)

The auto reward claims don't seem to be working since the HF

I know and it's already been fixed and will be deployed to the stores with the next update. Thanks for your report =)

Congratulations @keychain! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

First, kudos to you all for excellent dev work and a vital app for the Hive community. It's been a critical aspect of my successful ability to use Hive to improve my understanding of the world and pass that on as best I can.

I was able to kludge it into Opera and make it work right from the outset of Hive, which let me never look back at the bad old days when I got hacked and lost a lot of tokens to some script kiddy. However, having manually installed it on a browser it wasn't developed to support meant updates didn't work right, and that became an issue during the HF.

I have just become able to post again by installing it on Brave and using that to interact on Hive. Presently I am unable to use it on Opera, despite uninstalling the prior version of Keychain and installing 1.10.2.2.

I don't want to clutter up your post with this issue of marginal import to most folks, and of little interest to ya'll, since you've not sought to make Keychain Opera ready, but if you're willing to discuss specifics and see if I can be coaxed to make Keychain work on Opera again, please link me to a discord or chat where I can provide specifics and you can address them to debug the issue that keeps me from using Opera anymore.

TYVM for your hard work and progress making Keychain an app of central utility to our community, upon which most of us depend for our ability to interact and communicate daily.

Thanks!

Hi ! Thanks for your kind words. Indeed, manual installs wont update by themselves. You can contact me on Discord (stoodkev#8281) to try and fix your Opera problem but I do use it on Opera myself and it works fine.