Kyoto Cherry Blossoms

in #kyoto7 years ago

Kyoto is a must see for every visitor to Japan. It used to be the capital of Japan for over 1,000 years! There are nearly 2,000 palaces (split between Buddhist temples and Shinto shrines), lots of castles, and more importantly some of the best food in Japan.

When you travel to Kyoto it is almost like a time machine that takes you way back. It was nearly perfectly preserved during WWII and remains one of the oldest places I have ever visited.

To get there, I would recommend taking the Shinkansen (bullet train) from Tokyo and getting there in about two and a half hours.

In my opinion the best time to go is in the spring. I think the temperature is the best and if you get there with the cherry blossoms, you will not be disappointed.

The best food by far is takenoko, which is an edible bamboo shoot. I know this sounds odd- but trust me on it. I frequently request extra takenoko in my ramen or pickled.

Give it a shot!

1497231614154[1].jpg

1497231615949[1].jpg1497231621102[1].jpg1497231617361[1].jpg1497231619604[1].jpg

Sort:  

Japan is a wonderful country. Love how organized and peaceful it is. Kyoto was my favorite out of the 5 cities I visited. I really enjoyed seeing all of the Japanese people in traditional dress walking the streets.

Have you been to this restaurant?:

(not my photo - sourced from travelingcanucks .com)

No I have not!! Too funny! What kind of food is it? I don't even want to guess. The puppies under the mom are super cute though!

From what I remember, it was some sort of egg dish. I don't remember the name though! The restaurant definitely had character :D.

Hope to visit soon, looks amazing. Upvoted!