Lessons in Language learning: Quero matricular o meu carro para Portugal

in #language3 years ago

So far I’ve had a relatively gentle introduction to Portuguese - I’ve learned to say ‘hello’ at different times of day, order bread and pastries and gas and say please and thank you.

I mean, really tha would probably be enough to get by for the next forty years or so, but today is the day I go visit the agent whose helping me matriculate my car ({trust me you need an agent!), and I’ve been trying to think about some phrases that might be useful if you want to matriculate your car to Portugal...

Quer matricular o seu carro em Portugal?

Then here are some useful phrases.....

Hello I have an appointment. I’m waiting outside for you to come and open the door.

Olá, tenho um compromisso. Estou esperando lá fora que você venha e abra a porta.

How long will you be? What time should I come back?

Quanto tempo você vai ficar? A que horas devo voltar?

Because of lockdown I've been told I have to phone when I get to the offices and then they'll come collect some documents/ photocopy/ produce something for me to sign.

All the documents you need are on this USB disk in the folder labelled ‘matriculation’

Todos os documentos de que você precisa estão neste disco USB, na pasta denominada ‘matrícula’

I have sent my UK licence to the IMT, I now have a temporary Portuguese license.

Enviei a minha licença do Reino Unido para o IMT, agora tenho uma licença temporária em português,

There is a phat wedge of documents required to matriculate a car, trust me!

Also, because of Brexit I've had to change my licence, that's a generally useful phrase because of the possibility of getting stopped en route!

Will 50 documents be sufficient proof of address to satisfy Portuguese customs?

Serão 50 documentos comprovativos de morada suficientes para satisfazer os costumes portugueses?

I can arrange to get paper copies sent if necessary

Posso providenciar o envio de cópias impressas, se necessário

I'm kind of hoping the later is unnecessary - It's taken me a fair while to go through all of my bank statements, utility bills, invoices etc. etc. to prove I've been living at the same address for the last year as appears on my car's VC5 document, that's what is required!

Are you going to formally start the matriculation process today?

Você vai iniciar formalmente o processo de matrícula hoje?

I've subtly asked the agent if we can start this process more than once - I'm sure you can just declare your intent to import to customs and send the bare minimum of documents and then load on more later - but this guy seems to have wanted everything in advance - perhaps now I've got EVERYTHING - we can finally start!

Will I need to get my odometer changed from miles to kilometres?

Precisarei mudar meu hodômetro de milhas para quilômetros?

Just a question for clarification! Someone mentioned it as a possibility - and I couldn't find reference to being able to do this in my car's manual - surely I don't have to take it back to the dealer for this?!? Hopefully it's not necessary at all, then again!

How much are your fees?

Quanto são suas taxas?

When do I pay?/ Will I need to pay any money today?

Quando devo pagar?

Vou precisar pagar algum dinheiro hoje?

I don't have a choice, but I may as well find out how much he's charging! Maybe I should have done that sooner?!? But hey, the agent comes recommended and I know he's not outrageous because of that!

Not an entirely useless way to learn the language this....

Taxes = fees, worth knowing.

Quanto tempo - what time? Didn't know that before, even if it is a bit obvious, and....

hudometro - odometer - the jewel in the crown of today's lesson for sure!

Sort:  

I learn Spanish, i am at that point where i can almost speak with someone and i can almost understand others. 8 months of learning on Duolingo.

That's somewhere I'd love to be at - understanding what other people say is the hard bit!

I do use Duolingo. but I think I really need lessons!

yes, the best way to learn is to go there, and for 2-3 weeks speak only their language, this is the way. get a job, really, in a bar or somewhere, so you will need to speak. you will make money while learning. even if the money are not relevant. but this is how you learn in less than a month

or there is an easiest way, if you are still available, get a portuguese wife, then you will learn it for sure.