Weekly Last.fm Charts, featuring The The

in #last-fm4 years ago (edited)


Week 25 September – 2 October 2020


Weekly Last.fm Charts

I just spent some time going through my old Last.fm chart posts and updating them to blocks for Wordpress 5. It got me listening to lots again and has inspired me to start doing it again. It's really fun to look back through these charts and get a feel for what was going on in my life through the music I was listening to.

I did it for a while on my Steemit blog but it never really took. I like this way better, using Steempress to put it on my Hive blog but keeping it on my own blog as the primary source.

The The

Since I wrote my review of Long Shadows, High Hopes: the Life and Times of Matt Johnson and The The, I've been listening to The The a lot. It's good because the band is probably not accurately reflected in my all-time weightings on Last.fm as I listened to them all the time before I started scrobbling.

I'm not sure why, but I didn't listen to NakedSelf when it was released, nor since really, right up until a couple of weeks ago. I had a morning in bed with the book on my Kindle and I listened to it on my AirPods as I read about each track in the book. It was an amazing experience and I've been listening to NakedSelf a lot since then.

Strangeways, Here We Come

This Smiths album came up on my radar because of Tim's Listening Party on Twitter. I'd never taken part in the listening parties, although I knew that he'd done The The at least a couple of times. I started following the Twitter account and this came up straight away.

This is the only Smiths album I ever bought. I got it after hearing it at the army apprentices' college in Harrogate when John Hall played it one time. John's nickname was Manc, so you can guess where he's from, right? And yes, I was called Jock, obviously.

I've always loved the album, but listening to it with a live Twitter party going on added a whole new level of appreciation. Totally fun.

I've come to wish you an unhappy birthday, because you're evil and you liked, and if you should die I may feel slightly sad, but I won't cry.

Unhappy Birthday

Fuck!

The Others

To be honest, I'm not sure what the others are, with the exception of Bajofondo. I found them while browsing Tim's Listening Party archives and fired it on simply because the album cover drew me right in.

I mean come on, right?

I think the rest of the bands will have been Spotify algorithms carrying on with that style as I do know Gotan Project (I saw them in Luxembourg one time as it happens!).

RankAvatarArtist nameOptionsScrobbles
1Avatar for The TheThe The36 scrobbles
2Avatar for The SmithsThe Smiths20
3Avatar for BajofondoBajofondo18
4Avatar for Astor PiazzollaAstor Piazzolla2
5Avatar for AterciopeladosAterciopeladosMore1
6Avatar for Gotan ProjectGotan Project1
7Avatar for Jorge DrexlerJorge Drexler1
8Avatar for Kevin JohansenKevin Johansen1
9Avatar for Serú GiránSerú Girán1

That tremolo guitar. Love it!

Sounds like classic The The. I hope Matt Johnson brings out another album soon. I'd love to hear what these mad COVID times inspire him to write.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://sunbane.com/weekly-last-fm-charts-featuring-the-the-2/
Sort:  

Congratulations @camuel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 83000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 84000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

I listened to Infected a lot in my student days. I like The Smiths too, but Morrisey has really gone off the rails in recent years. A friend who has been a massive fan has given up on him.

Good to connect with you on last.fm. A friend introduced me to it when it was still Audioscrobbler. I even paid for it for a while. I have the app on my phone and a browser plugin that logs things like Youtube. I like having all the stats.

I love the stats too Steve. I didn't know you could scrobble YouTube but I don't listen to music on that platform anyway. It was the reason I switched to Spotify away from my own music library on my iPhone, because it was too complicated to scrobble from the iPhone. I've basically ditched iTunes now as it's basically unusable on Windows. I've been enjoying MusicBee as a Windows app.

I'm on Android and Linux. I find tools to scrobble with those. The Chrome extension handles Soundcloud too. The Linux audio player I use can scrobble too. From my experiences of iTunes I was not impressed.