My First Lensy NFT - A Magpie

in #lensy3 years ago

I bought my first NFT on Lensy. The picture is of a Magpie by @chris-uk .

UK? This must be a Ukrainian magpie. What else could UK stand for?

Magpies are extremely intelligent and venerable birds. Farmers tend to classify Magpies as flying rats. The picture shows a close up of the head of the bird. The purchase included "Full Commercial Rights." I assume that Full Commercial Rights includes the right to post the image on my HIVE blog.

Since I am interfacing with a creative activity. I decided to post using the Creative Coin interface to HIVE.

Magpie-bird.jpg

I bought the NFT for 1 HIVE. I listed the NFT for resale for 2 HIVE. I am writing this post in that brief period of time that I own the NFT. This is an interesting question: Do I need to own the NFT for all time, or only for that brief moment before I publish the post that contains the image?

If someone bought the NFT before I received payout for this post, would I be violating the spirit of copyright?

I suspect that @chris-uk was selling this picture at a loss simply to coax people like me into making my first purchase. I suspect that he is grumbling about selling it to some yank who doesn't know what UK means.

While this Magpie was my first lensy purchase, it was my seventh NFT purchase. I bought six images on NFTShowroom. Since I have only a few HIVE to use on this project, I've been buying bargain priced NFTs and immediately listing them for resale. I decided to make a page showing my progress .

I bought 7 NFTs for 18.72. I resold 4 of the images for 17.33 HIVE. NFTShowroom charged 1.73 fee. So, I am really only down 3 HIVE.

My Application to Lensy

Lensy.io accepts photographs. I've invested several thousand hours into taking photos of things in my local community. I am hoping that a few of my very best photos would be suitable for the Lensy.io bargain bin.

I applied to be whitelisted by Lensy. My photo site shows about 20,000 photos. Most of these photos are of events and businesses in my local community. I also have pictures of native flowers. Most of the photos are not suitable for Lensy.

I have about 100,000 photos on my hard drive. I want to go through and find the very best images for inclusion on Lensy. I will probably find only three or four images.

I do not claim to be a good photographer, but I will not spam. I know copyright law, and will only submit images for which I own full legal rights.

The main reason that I think Lensy should approve my application is that I will actively promote their web site if they do approve the application.

But, if I get rejected, I will still have my Magpie picture ... unless someone buys it. In that case I would have 1.8 SWAP.HIVE to invest in another NFT.