A House to call our own - Mortgage approved

in #leofinance2 years ago

house.jpg

Its a massive step towards home ownership - and a major milestone in our lives - we have our mortgage approved! The solicitor is drawing up final plans and hopefully within the next month or so we will be moving into our first home.

We have much work to do, we are looking at replacing the tired kitchen and are currently getting quotes for life insurance and contents cover ect.

So soon we will hopefully have a mortgage to pay each month, but i also need to invest in stocks and contribute to a pension - will be keeping a record here of how things are progressing and how spare funds have been allocated that month.

Shits about to get real, time to be a grown up - I am 38 years old after all!

previous posts from last months Here

And 11 months ago Here

Sort:  

Congratulations, I remember my hand was shaking when I signed my mortgage as it was doable so long as I don't buy a car and hoped Interest rates or Inflation didn't go crazy at the time. I had a Budget down paper.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you! yes its pretty nerve wracking! I hope the ten year fix for interest will be long enough that I can clear it in that time with overpayments and savings.

Congratulations. And it looks so cute. Best of wishes with this new era :D

Thank you! just to confirm it is not the property in the photo ( i wish) its a small 1 bedroom appartment, but one day we can save for one like that:)

Still it is a great think to get your own place. I am renting. But I am living in London and for many years I have lived in shared houses renting only a room in the house. From last November I have rented my own Studio Flat, and it is in a basement (Thankfully with some windows) but still it was a great achievement for me. The same that is a great for you. It only can get better.

That is a great achievement:) your own personal space is really important I think. And in London too, I know the pricing is crazy there!