Good Trades Gone Bad - A Critical Retrospective

in #leofinance3 years ago (edited)

Howdy folks, long time no blog. I hope all of your respective butt holes remain in tact after a wild week in the Bitcoin market.

My strategy issued a sell signal earlier today, but I actually exited three days ago while we were crashing and my profits were being chewed.

I grew my account by 28%, which would seem like a good result, but considering the account was more than doubled at the top and following my strategy to the tee would of yielded 38%, it's actually a shocker.

image.png
Strategy exits for a 38% profit

So what went wrong?

Leverage - the doubled edged sword

Leverage magnifies gains and losses, I never would of doubled my equity being positioned without leverage, but my rolling profits would not have been chewed up as fast on the way back down either. I'd stated regularly in prior posts that I was going to be nimble with the leveraged component of my position, but when push came to shove and the market turned I failed to do so. Kind of.

In actual fact I was a little too nimble, I did close the leveraged component very close to the top when we first turned lower, but then got suckered in by a few green candles off short term support and not only got back in, but increased my exposure right before the next leg lower:

image.png
Buy the fucking dip is a great strategy - til it's not

Loss aversion

Being wrong is fine, it's a part of trading. Most traders have no or very little edge over the market when it comes to accuracy, getting 50% of their trades right. From my experience researching and developing automated and semi-auto systems, lower accuracy strategies with larger reward profiles actually tend to generate better results.

Increasing your exposure at the wrong time is one thing, but not rectifying that decision once you're proven wrong is the next level of degen and will only lead to buttpain.

FOMO and over-trading

Though getting out before my strategy said sell actually didn't directly lead to reduced profits, it did leave me in a shitty situation. I was no longer in an awesome position from 34K, I was flat and my strategy was still saying hold long.

As such, deep FOMO took hold and 2 days of schizophrenic over trading took place - "It's going up - quick buy!" -> "Shit it's going down - SELL! SELL! SELL!". Though I had a couple of good entries during this phase, both long and short, having just wiped out so much of a good trade, my head was not in the right place for discretionary trading and I should not have been doing it.

Losses here were not too bad, a small fraction of what I lost on the way down, but still losses and a waste of energy.

The brightside

This post may seem negative, but it's not, it's just realistic. If you're not constantly assessing what you've done right, what you've done wrong and how you can do better next time and actually actioning all that, then you'll only ever be a mediocre trader, if not an outright loser.

At the end of the day, my strategy just proved itself in live trading conditions on a real account and if I'd followed it to the tee I would of made a 38% return in just a few weeks. Returns like that compounded over a year on a decent sized account = megabucks.

Following the strategy on the way up was a breeze and was honestly the least mentally intensive trade I've ever taken, even though at one point it was the largest $ value rolling profits I'd ever generated. Following this experience I am 100% converted to systematic trading over discretionary.

Finally, I am out with a profit and BTCUSD is looking heavy, if the speculative stars align, I will be getting back into the market at a discount to my exit and hitting a new equity peak the next time Bitcoin makes ATHs. If that happens I will likely actually listen to my wife and take some profits early - greed is a bitch and a risk averse queen can be a great check on that.

Talking Shop

What good trading decisions have you made this week? How about shitty ones? What could you do better? Maybe you're just starting out trading or know nothing and would like to learn?

Let me know in the comments below or come on over to the chartfarm discord server and degen/trade responsibly with me and a few other traders in real time. Pants are optional.

image.png

Sort:  

I over traded and did not cut my loses soon enough so I’m just riding the dip out.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Welcome to the club bud!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Worst single day trade lost 10k...

:(

Feelsbadman

not a lot of decisions this week as from my perspective BTC can be making the 30% dip but also rise back 15% or so before making the 15%

leveraging seems bold at the moment as the vision doesnt feel so clear

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for sharing Karin :)

Not trading when you're uncertain is a great way to avoid unnecessary losses.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good luck getting back into the market! I have adopted a HODL strategy now because the "shit sell sell sell" thought is always finding its way into my mind. I have found this to be much less stressful, but I am also probably not as well versed at technical signals and trading than you seem to be.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah I think I need to learn how to short maybe instead of going cash just to alleviate that fomo, whilst still effectively going flat

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @tradewatchblog! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

In these volatile peaks you can always see how many positions are liquidated with leverage. Greed often eats brains and people hope to make millions overnight. Of course, there are also bigger players, but there is always a whole bunch of small fish eaten. The shakes it then once right through and some need then also'n moment, until he continues where he has stopped.

But in the long run, the hands in the crypto sector will probably get stronger and stronger, even though the volatility will not disappear so quickly.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta