How Much is Your Time Worth? An Article About Writing Articles.

It's interesting to watch the Hive buzz with activity as the price and payout has multiplied in recent weeks. Accounts that have been mostly dormant for months or even years are suddenly coming alive. People like myself who post regularly are suddenly trying to come up with more interesting material.

So how much is your time worth? A post that pays you twenty dollars today, a few months ago paid you less than five dollars. How do you even approach this question when talking about getting paid in a currency that has the potential to go up and down like a yo-yo?

For me, time is worth somewhere in the middle income western world range. So that has always been what I shot for when thinking earnings/ per hour when making blog posts. There have been long periods of time where I've earned far less than that, and there have been periods of time where I've earned more. One thing has stayed constant is my huge appreciation for supporters of my blog.

Part of what had kept me going during the 10 cent days is that I enjoy doing my blog; and I curtailed my blogging style so it was more worth my time. I'd probably always keep my blog going in one way or another even if there were zero rewards. I've met a lot of amazing people here. Life changing relationships. So I fully understand that it's not all about dollars and cents. But I can't spend all day making blog post for a dollar an hour and I'm sure you can not either.

For me I don't mind writing articles but it's the most time consuming part of my blog. Currently I do a game and photo post which people seem to really enjoy. It's not very time consuming and it's been fun to do. With the price of Hive up I'm feeling much better about spending two or three hours writing and editing a blog post and it seems like a lot of other people feel the same way.

I believe strongly that the content around here is about to increase significantly in quality as the price and the platform grow. It's gonna be a big win for Hive, and we'll see the price and popularity rise to new levels. What about you? What do you think? And How much is your time worth?

From the Gulf of Thailand

-Dan "World Travel Pro"

THANK YOU AND DON'T FORGET TO

UP-VOTE, COMMENT, RE-BLOG :)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Photo by "World Travel Pro"
Sort:  

For most our time is worth more than we get paid on hive, for the lucky few they get their just rewards, and for others they get way more than they deserve.

I don't focus my time on getting paid but rather to grow, meet people and learn new things. As long as i am growing and enjoying my time here I'll keep reading, and posting.

I think what actually makes hive great is its not exactly a bubble. Most people posting spend most of their time doing something else, working or in life and just share a bit of it here, so there is great cross pollination.

One of the things that i spent most of my time on originally was challenge, running a few and entering a lot. It was great fun. I must get back to some.

Thanks for such an interesting reply. Really enjoyed seeing you perspective on that.

"I don't focus my time on getting paid but rather to grow, meet people and learn new things"

For me it's a mix of both. For anyone it's gonna be a certain degree of one or the other. My biggest draw back is screen time! I'm really an out doorsy kind of person. :)