Je voudrais PARLER mais je ne peux pas

in #liberty3 years ago

temp.png

I started a parler.com account several months ago. I didn't use it as I am not too fond of the twitter style of microblogging. Microblogging creates noise, but does not foster understanding.

I figured that after Trump's demise there might be people, somewhere in the world, interested in free market health care reform. Who knows, people on parler.com might like the idea.

I knew that the parler app had been removed from Google and Apple stores. They know what it feels like to be canceled. I've been canceled for decades because of my ideas on HCR. I've been canceled by both the left and right.

I know total cancellation.

Personally, I avoid using apps as the app market was developed by big tech and was designed to foist dependencies on developers using apps. Personally, I do not waste time developing or building apps because apps are too easily canceled.

Anyway, I tried logging into parler yesterday and was astonished to discover that Amazon Web Services violated their contract with parler and actually deleted the entire service.

I investigated AWS a decade ago. I tested the services and disliked the dependencies they injected into my project and tried to canceled. They actually charged me $120 after I cancelled their services.

People who want to retain their freedom of speech must avoid dependencies.

Quite frankly, I am afraid of the dependencies that come from using HIVE. Last year I was burned by a similar site called SteemIt.com.

What compromises would the core team of HIVE make to avoid SEC regulations? If the HIVE community had to choose between muting conservatives or being "regulated" I suspect the community would opt to mute the conservatives.

But lets get back to the question of architecture. Parler.com made a huge mistake using AWS services. There is a huge number of discount web hosts on the market. These usually offer the LAMP stack and c-panel.

I stopped using MySQL and use SQLite3 to avoid dependencies on Oracle. PHP has gone sour. Python, Rust or even C might be better base programming systems than PHP.

I've started using SSD based virtual machines. Digital Ocean and vps.net offer such machines starting at $5 per month. The entry level system can easily handle 30 million hits a month at which point one should upgrade to the $10 a month package.

The price of VPS machines is lower than AWS. Since virtual private servers are basis linux boxes it is easy to jump to a new host when one has problems with the old host.

BTW, I would be happy to help people set up a VPS for their project. It is incredibly easy to do.

Sort:  

I could be wrong but doesn't Hive.blog use AWS for image hosting?

I wish there were more posts about HIVE infrastructure. I would love to know the technical details about how the blockchain works.

I did a traceroute on both images.hive.blog and hive.blog. The traceroute terminated at domains owned by Cloudflare. This was the same for steemit.com . DomainTool says that hive.blog points to Cloudflare as well.

https://whois.domaintools.com/hive.blog

DomainTool says that hive.io points to AWS:

https://whois.domaintools.com/hive.io

DomainTools says that PeakD.com and LeoFinance.io are pointed to Cloudflare.

Interesting

It is hard to find information about this sort of thing

I found this, the day before I saw your post incidentally:

Bee Wiki

I've only read a couple of the articles, but it might have some information on infrastructure

You could add your findings too if you felt inclined

Personally, it would be nice to see a front-end working toward full decentralisation as a goal. Media, domain name, hosting and anything else that could potentially be attacked or controlled by hostile actors...

Maybe folks are already working on this

I read this site back when it was a Steem Wiki. Justin Sun's takeover knocked the life out of a large number of projects.

Sadly, Hive Wiki does not appear to be updated with descriptions of the latest alt coins.

I see, that's unfortunate

Being a wiki though, we could update it

What altcoins are you referring to specifically?