Accosted!

in #library3 years ago (edited)

We live in dangerous times, and I already have a dangerous career. It's not safe for me to go out in public. Even if I wait until evening when most sensible people are at home, danger looms around every corner.

Sure enough, it's not long before I am recognized.

Hey, library guy! When will you be open like normal?

I duck for cover in the grocery store behind a bread display. Clearly, the madness is here, and my town is doomed and desperate.

It's no use. They still manage to find me.

Will you resume the D&D campaign soon? My daughter and I would love to play again!

I dash down the aisle, trying to avoid eye contact, and get in line for the cashier with my collar turned up around my mask so my face is obscured. I sense the madness coming, but honor requires payment even in dangerous times like these.

I turn to the cashier, money in hand.

Do you have the Twilight books? I need something to read!

I scream as I run from the store.

They follow, inexorably.

I fumble for my keys. Curse my habit of locking the car doors! Still, I manage to get in and lock it again behind me. But not before a crowd swells.

They surround my car as the disease rapidly strips away their remaining humanity. I recognize the faces preventing me from leaving. I am trapped, unwilling to use the vehicle as a weapon against my former neighbors and patrons.

The COVID-isolation-crazed mob begin to chant in unison, their voices quavering.

Booooooks...... Booooooks.... We want to reeeeead......

Craaaaaft kiiiiiitssss..... I neeeed craaaaaft kiiiiitssss.....

Gaaaaaaame..... diiiiiiiiccce.....

I scream again, but my voice is drowned out as they break through the glass.

It will all be over soon. I can't hold them off for long. The lug wrench from the jack handle is not suitable for melee. Goodbye, world!


OK, that may be slightly fictionalized. I had to have a go at @meesterboom's inimitable style. Should I have added more swearing and innuendo, though?

Sort:  

Haha ... that was funny. When I was at university I worked at the student union run coffee shop and so I understand your pain.

Uffda. I suppose on top of being a pillar of the community responsible for helping your fellow students maintain their caffeinated sanity, you probably had unwelcome advances from would-be suitors as well? I can only think of one patron who awkwardly approached me with any kind of romantic overtures. Be forewarned: flirting with your librarian means you will be silently judged by your reading habits.

Yes ... I was a bit of a captive bird that way sometimes.

I picture the following sleazeball stereotype:

leans casually on counter, combing over-greased hair

I like my baristas the way I like my coffee. Hot.

wink and finger guns

Hehe, that made me laugh. Maybe just a tad more swearing and you would have been me!!

Creative off-the-cuff synonym for hanky-panky, something something sheep and kiwis, genitalia.

My god, it's like looking into a mirror!!

Two dollars
Two dollars
Twwwwwooooo Dooolllllaaarrrs.

Neeewwwspaaapers. I want to reeeaadd the Neeewwspaaapers. I want to broooooowse the staaacks.

We Are Living in a Failed world. The coronavirus is going ahead. What is the end?

The end is the same as it has always been. The world is fallen. Broad is the path that leads to destruction. Find the narrow way.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Hi jacobtothe,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.