Adventures in Reader's Advisory

in #library3 years ago (edited)

Quarantine policy makes for some interesting challenges in the library. People can come in to use the computers, but browsing the stacks for books is still verboten. Some people are getting better at using our online catalog, but others prefer to call in with requests, or ask at the desk after using our computers. A few even ask us to just pick something we think they might like.

20210105_194218.jpg

Note to self: I need new coffee. This old tin is stale.

One patron in particular suddenly seems to think we are particularly adept at just picking out books and films he might like. The trouble is, he reads so much that finding something both new and interesting for him is a real challenge.

Today, when I brought out a few items after considerable delay, he feigned indignation at the wait. I told him that I had given up on finding books he might like, and just tossed some Harlequin romances into his bags instead. The feigned indignation escalated in volume.

20210105_194510.jpg

This cover fits the tropes.

There is always a temptation to play pranks and push buttons, but I have just enough professionalism to resist acting on it.

At any rate, life goes on despite the chaos of the wider world. Our youth librarian is struggling to plan a summer reading schedule for virtual programs again, because the administrators are anticipating closures continuing indefinitely. Never mind how these kids will have been together at school already, or they and their parents are at the least risk from COVID anyway.

We will see what 2021 will bring, but I remain concerned that the fallout from 2020 politics will have much more severe long-term consequences than the virus itself.

Sort:  

This is what we love in our community! you can post this type of content in in Hive Book Club 😊
This is the link to the community.
https://peakd.com/c/hive-180164/trending
We also organize a contest With total prize of 65 HIVE this month.
https://peakd.com/hive-180164/@macchiata/january-book-review-contest-or-65-hive-prize
image.png
"

This post made my whole day, as I know which patron you are speaking of and do wish you did indeed throw in a bodice ripper or two😆

I wish you would have played the prank, and I wish I would have been there to witness it (grin)!
Sometimes I sense the more I do for my students, the more they expect from me.... And maybe that is my responsibility / fault for not encouraging their self-reliance?

Regardless, I would have enjoyed seeing the expression on his face!