Ramble On, My Wayward Hiver

in #life3 years ago

Greetings, programs! Welcome to my page!

Well, I didn't really have anything to write about that would make a full post, so I decided to just ramble on about various things that wouldn't make a complete post.

First, the gratuitous cat picture, just to get this thing started. This is Mz Shitaki, the fat garden cat, being her usual unhelpful self.
DSCN3938.JPG

DSCN3936.JPG

text divider.png

I do have to make a complaint to whoever is in charge of stuff on PeakD, my favorites feed hasn't worked since the hardfork. I like to be able to see any new posts from a couple pages that I put on my favorites list, but the feed hasn't updated since some time in September.

text divider.png

I bought a new baritone ukulele recently. I wanted to get a baritone ukulele with a radiused fret board, but I discovered that those are actually rather rare and hard to find. You have to buy an expensive one to have that option. About 95% of the ukuleles made have a flat fret board. Because of my fingers, I find the flat fret board harder to play certain chords on.

I did an internet search to see what I could come up with, and the few ukuleles that I found that were listed with a radiused fret board were all expensive, north of 500 dollars U.S.
The one I ended up buying was a bit more than that, but you do get what you pay for with these instruments. I ended up getting a Pono spruce top, acacia sides and back baritone ukulele with a 20 inch scale length, which is fairly standard for the baritone ukuleles. I'm probably going to write a full post about it soon, but I have a picture of it to put here.
DSCN4009.JPG

text divider.png

The weather here has been decent for this time of year. It's been a bit above freezing during the day, and no snow on the ground yet. This is a good thing because I blew out a brake line on my Explorer last week and had to replace it. The Explorer is a 1993, so pretty much everything is rusty under it. The failed line is the one that runs from the front of the vehicle to the back to supply the rear brakes.

It turned out that the line had already been replaced once at sometime, and the replacement line had rusted out at the end where it connects to the rear brakes. There was a fitting where two shorter lines were used to replace the original long one. I only needed to replace the back half, which made it less complicated.

I found out that you can now get corrosion resistant brake lines made from a nickle/copper alloy. They're more expensive, but I think they're worth the extra cost. The alloy lines are easier to bend to whatever shape you need, which is a good thing. However, being easier to bend also means being easier to kink while bending if you're not careful. I have a brake line bender that really helps with making tight bends without kinking the line, and that came in handy during the installation.

Of course, crawling around on the cold ground under the back end of the vehicle to get the line replaced isn't really very much fun, but I have a couple of chunks of old rug that work well for the purpose. You don't get full of dirt or mud, and it's a bit less cold and a bit more comfortable.
Did I mention that I don't have a garage, or even a driveway slab...just the cold ground...

text divider.png

As I mentioned in my last garden post, the garden is done for the year, so I don't have anything to write about for that. The greenhouse still has a couple of projects that I should get done soon. I need to finish insulating the winter pond fish tank before it starts getting winter cold, and I still want to get some of the greenhouse pots filled with dirt before it freezes in there and I can't do any more of that work. I still have a few decent days left to do some of that, so I might manage to get some of it done.

I guess that's about all I have to write about for right now, so I'll end it here.
Thanks for stopping by to read it!

Sort:  

Yeah, that's my husband's biggest complaint, laying on the ground to work on vehicles.

Beautiful ukulele. I enjoy the sound ukulele makes, generally makes me happy.
Our gardens are battened down for the coming winter also.
Missing it already.
Have a wonderful day.

What a beautiful instrument. I'm sure you're all pumped up about it! It looks like Christmas has come early in your home. I hear you with needing to get a few more things done before the ground freezes, once it does it's game over for months.

good luck finishing those jobs you mentioned.

Have a wonderful Holiday!

Thank you!
Early Christmas for sure! 😀