Easy Homemade Ricotta Cheese Recipe!

in #life4 years ago (edited)

img_8042.jpg
After spending a little bit too much time in the garden and even a longer time soaking in the tub catching up on my reading I decided I really wanted to make some lasagna but unfortunately I was out of ricotta. Well, I did have plenty of milk in the fridge so I would have to make some more! My recipe is so easy and affordable you’ll wonder why you ever spent $7 on a small tub of ricotta cheese when it’s so simple to make at home! And you don’t need any rennet but the magic of lemon juice!
img_2100.jpg
Want to know how it’s done?
Ok, here goes!
Ingredients
2 quarts whole milk

Juice of 1 1/2 lemons
img_2099.jpg
1 tsp Salt
img_2098.jpg
Directions

  1. Simmer milk with the salt over a medium flame stirring frequently so it doesn’t scorch.
  2. When you see milk beginning to steam and bubble and forming a frothy, creamy layer that sticks to your spoon, stir in your lemon juice.
    img_2102.jpg
  3. Immediately you should see your milk curdling. Your curds should start separating from the whey. Continue stirring for about 5 more minutes.
    img_2103.jpg
  4. Cover your pot and let it sit for 15 minutes.
  5. Wet and wring out a piece of cheesecloth and place it over a colander that is big enough to catch all your curds.
    img_2101.jpg
  6. Pour the contents of your pot carefully and slowly over your cheesecloth.
    img_2104.jpg
  7. Tie up the opposite corners of your cheesecloth so the curds don’t fall out and the whey can be expressed easily.
    img_2105.jpg
  8. I like to use a wooden spatula between my hands and the cheese to press out the whey when it’s still too hot to wring it out.
    img_2106.jpg
  9. Check it every so often until you have the consistency you like. Remember, the longer you leave it weeping the farmer the cheese will be. You can taste it and at this point either salted more or add any herbs you would like to it. I left it plain as I will be mixing it with other cheeses for my lasagna.
    img_2107.jpg
    Isn’t it gorgeous!
    And delicious too!
    You can double the recipe too! Keep it refrigerated, it should keep up to a week and a half.
    Have you ever made cheese with or without rennet before?
    I hope you’re all doing well and are staying healthy, I wish you all a great weekend!
    img_2078.jpg
    Xo,

IMG_1115.JPG

7FD15966-03BB-4564-8F29-74A5A6A84179.jpeg

AD249043-CFA4-4968-B8B9-6BF16B001793.jpeg
BTC
3EnChez6mqJGzsLtFzrXiuAcwy26QcE4YS

Sort:  

I’ve never made cheese so I have to try this!

Oh my God it’s super easy friend! You’ll love it!

looks delicious :)

It truly is! Happy Saturday!

I love the fresh cheese specially with a touch of salt.

Me too friend!!! So good!