Idea For a New Treatment for Cancer

in #life5 years ago

So I just contacted NantHealth with an idea that popped in my head about a new treatment for cancer. I will be pasting the email I sent to them here on this page but first let me explain in a short paragraph why a "cure" for cancer is difficult to find.

Caner cell arrive when our own cells proliferate incorrectly, meaning that the DNA sequence that codes how a cell supposed to behave is either damaged or mutated in some way. we detect cancer cells by cancer markers in our blood. There is a long lesson and lecture about cancer and how it occurs but this is the short version, I will upload another blog post explaining the mechanism.

Okay this is a copy and paste of my Email, It does contain my idea which I do want the world to know about and to create if possible because it will save people and thats what matters most.

"Good day,

I have an idea for a new treatment for cancer. You might get these emails quite often but please do provide me with feedback.

I do not have the resources nor yet obtained the knowledge to go ahead and put forward any trials or a thesis to this idea. I am just a 3rd year med student, hence I would like Nant Health to consider my idea.

I do not expect anything in return except a piece of mind knowing that mankind is taking a step in the right direction. It would be selfish of me to keep this idea to myself with my limited resources.

My idea is as follows:

What if we create a gel capsule or an intravenous drip thats injects an enzyme that causes a malignant tumor to become benign or a benign tumor to grow in size, the mechanism of action would be that the enzyme attaches to the tumor cell and coats the tumor with a gel like substance which intern calcifies and creates a hard shell over the tumor cell. The calcification would grow in size with each treatment. This will cause tumor cells to be easier to see radiographically and to be removed surgically. This mechanism is a lot like how an oyster creates pearls which would be the starting point to find this enzyme to do this task.

On paper this idea seem brilliant although the drawbacks would be that the calcification could cause damage to healthy tissue or clog an artery or cause respiratory distress, but with carful monitoring we could avoid these issues.

I agree that more research needs to be done hence I want my idea to be known.
Please take this email into consideration for a new treatment other than blasting cells with radiation and harmful chemo drugs.

Thank you for your time.

Regards,"
-And then I put my name at the end.

I hope more people could share not only coding knowledge on the web but also ideas to make this world better for all humans. we need to share our knowledge and move away from the greed of capitalism. Everyone is family and we should care for one an other.

Thank you for reading this post and helping me create awareness .

Sort:  

What concerns cancer would be to increase the patient's immune system and perhaps the organism will fight with better weapons against the disease anyway your idea may be applicable.

Caner is our own cells that proliferate rapidly and without being checked. Our immune system does not recognize our own cells as a threat. Usually our immune system attacks foreign bodies. Thats why we have to find a match when performing organ transplants. Even when it comes to cancer markers, these markers are produced all the time in our bodies but the over produce when we have cancer and thats how we diagnose if we have cancer by use these values.
Cancer has been around for many years, It's just that we are recently finding ways of diagnosing it.

I love the fact that you have commented on this post, I wish more people were like you. If we as mankind sit together and share knowledge and brain power, we could change the world for the better. Thank you for taking time to read my post.

You were right! There is immunotherapy.

Immunotherapy is treatment that uses certain parts of a person’s immune system to fight diseases such as cancer. This can be done in a couple of ways:

Stimulating your own immune system to work harder or smarter to attack cancer cells
Giving you immune system components, such as man-made immune system proteins
Some types of immunotherapy are also sometimes called biologic therapy or biotherapy.

In the last few decades immunotherapy has become an important part of treating some types of cancer. Newer types of immune treatments are now being studied, and they’ll impact how we treat cancer in the future.

Immunotherapy includes treatments that work in different ways. Some boost the body’s immune system in a very general way. Others help train the immune system to attack cancer cells specifically.

Immunotherapy works better for some types of cancer than for others. It’s used by itself for some of these cancers, but for others it seems to work better when used with other types of treatment.

this article is from
https://www.cancer.org/treatment/treatments-and-side-effects/treatment-types/immunotherapy/what-is-immunotherapy.html

Congratulations @bankiezn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!