Well Hive, It's Been a While, and Then Some

in #lifelast year

image.png

So after leaving a vacant slot as far as my Hive posts go for a few months, here I am! And all I have to say for myself is: "What a ride!"

As much as I would have loved to be present and active on the platform, life happened. The past year has been a whirlwind of the highest highs and the lowest lows, all intertwined into a magical dance that played out to the rhythm of time and circumstance.

I am not even sure where to start, but in short, the past year has revolved around trying to juggle between my mother's care, rebuilding the farm, keeping down a full-time job, a daughter in university, and my sanity on the verge of collapse. And all that, of course, with a few curve balls compliments of life along the way.

But if I have learned anything throughout my life, it would be the art of making shit happen despite all odds!

Over the next few weeks, I intend to get you all up to speed with all that has happened but to start, I wanted to touch on the subject of caring for my elderly mother. As many of you may know, my mom has fallen into the depths of Dementia and Alzheimers.

Her care has become more demanding mentally, physically, and emotionally; as we all know, time waits on no man. There is so much that can be said about the condition, what goes into the care of a person perpetually bound to this state, and even more about how it affects the lives of those that stand witness. But instead of ladling facts over open wounds, I wrote a short piece that follows the motions of this state of being.

image.png

Abiding by the natural course,
I'll give you mine while you take yours.
This earth, this land, your blood, your tears,
A maze put forth through the grip of years.
Momentary are the joys and strife
as you now stare blankly at the canvas of life.
No longer you, and no longer not,
I still remember although you forgot.

I stand witness to the bitter and sweet
as the nectar of life lay waste at your feet.
Your ice-blue stare grows dimmer each day,
between moments of clarity fading in, then away.
Iron the hand of the ever-ticking clock
that slowly erodes the keys of reasoning's lock.
No longer you, and no longer not,
I still remember although you forgot.

image.png

Sort:  

Good to see you, Breezin.

Great to see you too. Thanks for stopping in

This nis so touching dear. Your Mom condition will surely put you into much stress. It is good you started. It is demanding to care for her but God by your side has given you the wisdom and heart to cope under this situation. Remain bless dear friend.

Thank you so much for the kind words. Yes it is trying times, but we also need to look at all the things that we have to be grateful for <3

You are right. Your courage has prepared me for a difficult time. Giving up is not the solution but to move on with life

Thank you so much for the kind words. Yes it is trying times, but we also need to look at all the things that we have to be grateful for <3