Half Baked And Clueless

in #life4 years ago

EkZSg8eXgAEecD2.jpgsource
UK may as well change the number plate to 2021 as it looks as though they are in for a rather long session this time around.

I was chatting to my mother this morning and she mentioned that certain parts of England are going into lock down again. The problem I see is nothing was done properly the first time around.

I believe if you are going to do something do it properly and now the country is going to really suffer. Whether you believe in Covid or not it is real as I have experienced it first hand. You have to be a fuckwit to think it is a hoax.

Tonight I am reading the UK very high alert status which allows restaurants and pubs to remain open as long as they are serving food. What kind of idiot thought of this master plan? You can't have your cake and then eat it as well and not suffer the consequences.

I recall it wasn't that long ago the country was under a "lock down" yet the nation was out and about going to the beach and carrying on like normal. Happy to take the pay and not abide by the warnings is only going to end up in tears for everyone. From where I am looking the country is screwed and there will be no handouts so everyone thinks they are on holiday again.

We had a lock down since March and we were not as hard hit as the UK. The government offered R350 per month to those unemployed which is literally 20 loaves of bread per month per person. Shocking and they have now extended that foe another 3 months as even though we are out of the lock down we are genuinely not. Companies have refused to see me as I am not part of their bubble and are taking it seriously.

Companies that have over 500 employees have not reopened head offices as the expense of social distancing would cripple them. Splitting work forces up into teams and isolating them if someone gets sick is not an option anymore. Providing safe transport to and from work is just too costly. Many are reassessing at the end of this month and being November will most likely make a decision in January now and not before. That means we as a country have been affected since March making it 9 months and counting.

Work wise I can tell you it has been tough going as this month will be the first money I will take from my business since February. I don't want to but I have no choice and hope things improve rapidly from here on out. I may have hated the decisions the South African government made at the time but it is looking far better than what I am seeing play out elsewhere. We are at least hitting summer and not winter like the UK which will make a difference.

If the UK had been honest about this and took the pain properly the first time around then they would not be going down this path now. Now it looks as though it will be Christmas at home for everyone because people didn't listen. Sometimes you can sympathise, but I can't when it involves stupidity, arrogance and ignorance all rolled up into one. My brother who works contract legal work for banks is unemployed these days and many of the recruitment firms he uses have shut their doors. Today he had an interview and has a 1/250 chance compared to last year where it was more like 1/20.

I was hoping to see my mother in the not to distant future and that looks as though that door has been shut for the time being. When I was chatting to her today she is better off staying here than there and that is from a house that had Covid patients a month ago. I must admit I have my concerns these days as her age is not in her favor. She hasn't really done much over the last 6 months and that is no way to live. Saying that I haven't done much since March which is no better really and at least things are improving here even though very slowly.

Sort:  

It does look like chaos in the UK.

The sit down meal rule is fucking ludicrous I KNOW.

I'm so glad I'm out of there!

I think we are heading that way as well. Hopefully this time people pay attention to what is going on and stop acting like children. I am also hoping if we do go into a lock down again people are less likely to hoard stuff like they did before. The stores are just finally starting to get stocked up on stuff again.