Lasers In The Night Sky

in #life3 years ago

I've been posting pictures each day from my experiments in the Atacama Desert while in lockdown. The area offers crystal clear skies and is the perfect place to learn astrophotography.

Today I tried another experiment with light - in the first shot I turned the outer red lights off, and opened the dome which gave a cool effect. I then used a laser to form a V in the night sky. This meant that I had to line up the frame of the image, put a twenty second timer on the shot (in which time I'd run into the observatory), shine my laser out of the dome (mirroring the angle of the Milky Way - which took several attempts), and then wait 20 seconds for the full exposure of the shot.

_Z501406.jpg

Nikon Z50 | 16mm | f/3.5 | 20s | ISO 4000

_Z501414.jpg
Nikon Z50 | 16mm | f/3.5 | 20s | ISO 4000