The Largest Radio Telescope in the World

in #life2 years ago

ALMA 4.jpg

On our way to the Chajnantor Plateau

The anticipation was growing as we trekked over the rugged terrain at high altitude. I felt extremely grateful to have the opportunity to explore this remote area.

I finally got my first sight of the 66 radio antennas sitting on the Chajnantor Plateau. It's hard to put it into words - but after being fascinated by astronomy my entire life and finally getting the chance to see ALMA up close was a humbling experience. The work that goes on behind the scenes at ALMA is groundbreaking, leading to scientific discoveries that constantly push the boundaries of what we know and understand of the universe today.

ALMA 5.jpg

First glimpse of the most advanced telescope in the world

Sort:  

Feels like the place would be very radioactive or is just me overthinking