Bitter 9.13.2020

in #life4 years ago (edited)

Bitter. I am thinking of the taste of bitter as in bitter melon. It is a fruit that is bitter. Most think a fruit would taste sweet, but yes the bitter melon is a fruit that is bitter.

Well, bitter is important as it is for the health as there must be balance. Look how some people like the sweet as too much sugar and sometimes the sweet is artificial or unnatural sweetness like chemical sweeteners.

I remember as a kid I would eat too much candy after the trick or treat time. With a big bag of candy, I would eat it at will and I ate so much that it cause the sugar rush headache that I suffered from too much candy.

I remember it was so bad that I asked my mom if she could prepare some bitter melon for me. So she went and cooked a meal for the family with bitter melon.

You know after I ate that bitter melon, my headache got relieved. All that sugar in the candy made me sick and the bitter melon made be feel better.

It is not just me, but there is research that people with diabetes are eating bitter melon also.

From an article called, Does Bitter Melon Help With Diabetes? This is mentioned in the article, Bitter melon has several chemicals that seem to act like insulin and help to lower blood sugar levels. This article is on the WebMD site.

So that is why after eating bitter melon did I feel relief from the trick or treat candy as a kid.

So my mom wanted some more bitter melon and I took her to the farmers market. Mom did get to buy some bitter melon from a couple of different vendors.

There also I seen a couple of musicians. One I wrote about in my Steemit.com blog called, I Took My Mom To The Farmer's Market And Heard Some Music 6.7.2020. So I got to see Mark Mardon again, he is a master recorder player and another was with Mark, a dulcimer 4-string guitar like instrument player, his name is Aaron. I asked Aaron, Aaron like the brother of Moses? He said, Yes. Aaron even told me how to pronounce his name in Hebrew. That was cool. I don't know much about Hebrew, but I like reading the Bible.

I think Aaron said that they met each other in San Francisco. Well, that is good to play different instruments together. Aaron even told me which recorder Mark played when they met. I know that there is a different recorder for each key. I looked that up.

Aaron asked me if I played an instrument? I told him I played the guitar. So he asked me if I wanted to play his dulcimer. Well, I took it and he handed me his pick. I strummed out a simple thing not even knowing much about the dulcimer. Aaron told me he liked it.

I told Aaron that I wrote a blog with Mark in it and Mark said he would share the link with Aaron. That was a fun blog. I told Aaron that people from Malaysia look at my blogs.

Then I mentioned how a musician/singer never made it in the United States, but he was famous for decades in South Africa. I told him to look up the documentary called, Searching for Sugar Man. It is about this musician named Rodriguez who was not famous at all in the United States, but was extremely famous in South Africa and he didn't even know it. A most interesting documentary.

Aaron even gave me some nectarines. I didn't expect that, but I took it and left some for, I believe to be his son who likes nectarines also.

Then said, Good bye to Mark and Aaron and Aaron's son.

So all this cause mom wanted some more bitter melon.

Let's end with some scripture, as it is written, But now bring me a minstrel. And it came to pass, when the minstrel played, that the hand of the LORD came upon him. And he said, Thus saith the LORD, Make this valley full of ditches. For thus saith the LORD, Ye shall not see wind, neither shall ye see rain; yet that valley shall be filled with water, that ye may drink, both ye, and your cattle, and your beasts. 2 Kings 3:15-17.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.