I Woke Up With An Old Song In My Head 11.26.2020

in #life3 years ago

Well, I woke a little early as I had to go to my mom's for Thanksgiving. There was a song in my head. I thought, Someone left the cake out in the rain, I don't think that I can take it 'Cause it took so long to bake it And I'll never have that recipe again Oh, no.

Well, I knew that song as when I was a kid of about 10 years old it was a hit on the radio.

I had to look it up. The version is the one with Richard Harris as the singer and the song is called, McArthur's Park from 1968. I had to look it up again, but not before my morning walk.

My morning walk is where I walk my backyard from one corner of my backyard to the other in a diagonal direction and I just keep repeating it until an hour has passed. I think I have made it into a habit, I hope so.

As I was walking I was thinking of the cake out in the rain. Was it really about a cake? After my walk, I went to the computer to listen to it again. At that time songs in the radio barely made it past the 3 minute mark, but this song is over 7 minutes long.

I tried to look up the song to see what it was about, as when I was 10 years old I thought it was a good song, but I didn't really know the meaning of the song.

Oh well, I found that it was a metaphor, some sad song, well, a really sad song, a love song.

I was reading the comments under the Youtube video of Richard Harris singing that song.

I read one where a guy was 16 when the song came out and he was going with a girl and made a mistake and lost her. To this day he still thinks of her and now he is 70 years old.

That was just one comment, but there were a lot of comments like that one. Well, I am glad that I don't have any girl in my head, haunting my memory for such a long time.

I thought I knew the name of Richard Harris as an actor, but I find that Richard Harris was an actor, but he was a singer also. I also found that Richard Harris died in 2002.

I also found out that some of the session musicians of that song were of the "wrecking crew", some of the same musicians that recorded with Brian Wilson in some of the Beach Boy songs.

So I woke up to some lyrics and it reminded me of my childhood and I found out some interesting things.

Let's end with a scripture, as it is written, Sing unto the LORD a new song, and his praise from the end of the earth, ye that go down to the sea, and all that is therein; the isles, and the inhabitants thereof. Isaiah 42:10.

Sources 1, 2, 3

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.