You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rambling thoughts about depression

in #life6 years ago

This is such a great piece. Depression is one of those things that people shy away from and do not want to talk about because they are often seen as weak if they do talk about it or other they feel that others will judge them and feel their issues are insignificant.

One thing I have learned while dealing with post traumatic stress from my military and law enforcement experiences and dealing with my own depression on a daily basis is that people can get become depressed from many different things and it is not anyone's place to judge them for that, and you are 100% correct in saying that those people suffering just need someone to listen to them. The problem is that those that are suffering usually feel like a burden to others and will hide their problems because or they seclude themselves and push others away.

Depression sucks and people need to be perceptive and notice the changes in their friends and loved ones so that they can truly help them through it. Thank you for this awesome post.

Sort:  

Thank you for your insight and I'm really glad that my post can bring awareness to this matter. I also went through a depression and I saw people being misunderstood. After trying too much to make people listen to my advice on how to act in these situations, I finally decided to write about it. You're entirely right, most of the time, those that are suffering are in hiding, so to speak. As for me, I stopped sharing my pain because people judged and didn't listen. So I started helping myself with music, drawing, and meditation.
Thanks again for your relevant comment!