It’s 2020 After All, Why Not?

in #life4 years ago (edited)


It’s 2020 After All, Why Not?

I guess it’s time to break out the wool sweaters and bundle up. The Twin Cities could have our first measurable snowfall on Tuesday according to this website. We woke up this morning to a windchill factor of 24 degrees (F). I can’t remember in my twenty-five years of living here it being this cold this early. All I can say is I hope this prediction is wrong.

Road Trip

We’ll be loading Amstel up in the car in a few days and heading down to Ohio to be with my parents for a week or so. Thanks to everyone who’s reached out with kind words and prayers for my Dad. He’s going to be released to a rehab facility within the next few days and should be back home in a week or so after that.

He’s still very foggy but he’s recovering, physically. I spoke with him for the first time since the accident yesterday and he knew who I was so that’s a very positive thing.

Weekly Must Streams

Kara and Nate
You guys know I’m a huge fan of YouTube travel channels because when these Covid restrictions begin to ease I plan on starting one myself. We recently found Kara and Nate’s channel and have been binging religiously ever since:

When I find a new channel that I like I tend to go back and watch from the beginning to try to learn how their channel and skills evolved. These two are a joy to watch, they were really quick learners. I’m impressed by how they take all of the headaches associated with travel in stride and try to teach their subscribers tricks and tips they’ve learned along the way.

The Morning Show


Next up is The Morning Show on Apple TV. I didn’t want to like this, I really didn’t. It’s not my kind of show, or so I thought. It also gets so-so ratings on some platforms but about two episodes in it hit me how phenomenal the writing is. This is actually smart TV dealing with complex issues but it’s just that it's wrapped up in such a glitzy and colorful package that you’d never think so. This one was a nice surprise and has me on the edge of my seat waiting for Season 2 to drop.

Mindful Moments: Perfecting The Pause - Book Update

First Draft Of The Book!
The book designer has promised the first draft of the book by the 27th! I couldn’t be more excited.

Marketing, Launch, and Hive
I’m knee-deep in designing the marketing plan for the book and the launch now. It’s safe to say we’ll be trying a few things that have never been done before. Hopefully some of these novel things will bring some mainstream attention to the Hive platform.

There Will Be Merchandise
@opheliafu and I are working on three t-shirt designs based on the illustrations she created for the book. We should have a live link for the Mindful Moments merchandise very soon.

That’s all for now. Enjoy the sliver of a weekend you have left everyone!

With Gratitude,

Eric Vance Walton

(Gifs sourced from Giphy.com. All photos are original)


alt text

I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

I am glad to hear that you are going to be able to go down and visit your family. It has to be hard being so far away from them. I think we are heading down to Cbus in a week or so for a quick visit as well. We probably won't see them again until Christmas after that. Awesome news about the book! I try not to watch too many of those types of YouTube videos. They tend to make me angry. Here I am busting my butt barely getting by and these people are making way more than me traveling all over to these cool places I will probably never see. Yeah, I guess I am a little bitter :)

Thanks, COVID made this so much tougher to plan for. I've been trying to help as much as I can from here with phone calls and such. It sounds like we'll be in the city around the same time. If we didn't have all this going on it would have been nice to try to meet up!

There's nothing quite like seeing a book all together for the first time. I'm especially excited to see the illustrations placed. There's usually a little back and forth in the design process but I think it's safe to say we'll have a mid-November book launch.

I used to feel that way too about YouTubers too until I learned how much work goes into it. There can be 5-7 hours of editing for just a handful of 15-20 min videos. They also make no money at first until they build a subscriber base so you have to have another gig to bring money in. They have to do lots of live Q & A's and promote the heck out of themselves to even get traction. I have a couple of friends who started a channel in 2017 (Tangerine Travels, link below) and have seen how long it's taken them to build their subscriber base. It's been fun to watch them build their channel over these last few years.

I have no idea how Kara and Nate did it. They were just young newlyweds when they first set out in 2016. Maybe they took whatever cash they got from the wedding and bought an around-the-world plane ticket, crossed their fingers, and just started filming? One thing I like about these two channels is they didn't try any gimmicky/dramatic/dangerous things to get attention. So many of these YouTubers end up doing these dangerous and/or elaborate stunts to get subscribers and take huge personal risks as a result.

It's kind of a daunting task to think about starting this at almost 50 years of age. The age of people doing well at this might well have passed too since there's so much competition now. I guess like anything else you just have to find a unique niche.

That's funny you mention that last part. The video I saw last night was a couple of older people. They had the full setup, Go-Pro, drone, all of the bells and whistles. It was kind of impressive to see what they had thrown together. I will have to see if I can find the video again and share it with you. I will try to keep an open mind and dig into some of the stuff you shared as well :) I'm really not that bitter, I just want to give my wife the life of experiences she deserves!

I'd be curious to know who they are! We watch one retired American couple who have a channel on RV'ing. They're actually really good. We also watch another couple who RV from England called, Herman Hits The Road they're probably closer to our age. The gear they have now is incredible, especially the drones. I hope there are some advances in video editing software that will use A.I. to help do most of the laborious for you. Apple has something similar now that will create slideshows, with music, of live photos for you on iPhones. The iPhone does a shockingly good job so I'd be surprised if there aren't some software options to offer that as well.

It's perfectly understandable that you want to give her a great life. It can be incredibly frustrating sometimes.

I tried to find the video but I can't now. It was an older couple in a motorhome and they were exploring the UP of Michigan.

Thanks for looking! I'm sure we'll come across them at some point. Have a good rest of the day.

How are you dear friend @ericvancewalton good night
I am very sorry that the cold has arrived without warning and very strong.
It's good that you're going on a trip to your parents' house, you're doing very well, there's nothing more beautiful than being at home. I hope the medications are doing a good job on your dad, thank God there are no sequelae from the accident and that your voice has recognized.

Without a doubt you will be going through many emotions due to the delivery of the draft of your book.

I take this opportunity to wish you an excellent week, stay warm

I'm doing well, hope you are too! This kind of cold is par for the course in the Upper Midwest but I'm just never ready for it.

I can't wait to get down to Ohio to see them. The weather looks warmer down there so it'll be nice to extend our Autumn a little more.

Thanks and I hope you have a great week my friend!

Hello there my friend, it's great to see that your dad is being released to a rehabilitation center I guess, he needs to have the most peaceful place to continue his rehabilitation and hopefully he finds that peace and comfort.
As for the book, I didn't know you were working with Ophelia, for the illustrations and design, I have no doubt that you'll do the best and the result will be stunning. How has it been with you?

He injured his knee so they'll just be working with him to make sure he's able to walk properly on his own.

Yes, Ophelia did all of the illustrations in the book's interior. Another person is designing the book, Lubosh Chec. He's super talented, I'm grateful to be working with two gifted artists on this project.

All things considered I'm doing okay. How about you?

Oh, it's been so cold over there! In Cumaná there is a lot of heat and sun. The December breeze has not yet arrived. It's good that your father is better and soon at home. And equally, it's good that you can travel and be with your parents even if it's only for a week. That will not only make you and your father feel good, but also your mother who will have your help. The book is just around the corner. Super advanced! I think this last quarter will fly by like all of 2020. Many blessings await you, Eric. Decreed!!Take care of yourselves. Hugs

I think I live in the wrong part of the world @nancybriti. Do you guys get cold at all where you are? I'm so thankful I've had this book to look forward to these past few weeks. I hope when the calendar turns to 2021 the world will begin to heal and we'll return to something that resembles normal. Take care and enjoy the week! Thanks.

I think I have to start reading this beautiful novels

If you do I hope you enjoy it.