Mindful Moments: Perfecting The Pause - Chapter One (for Beta-Readers)

in #life4 years ago (edited)

For those of you who weren’t aware, I made this announcement a month ago about my new book.

In That Original Post I Explained..

Over the next few months I’ll be rereading all of the post comments, enhancing the posts, and crafting them into the final chapters. When these chapters are complete I’ll have an open call for beta-readers on Hive to read the manuscript and offer feedback.

What Is A Beta-Reader? (from Wikipedia)

Beta Reader: a test reader of an unreleased work of literature or other writing (similar to beta testing in software), who gives feedback from the point of view of an average reader to the author. A beta reader is not a professional and can therefore provide advice and comments in the opinions of an average reader. This feedback is used by the writer to fix remaining issues with plot, pacing, and consistency. The beta reader also serves as a sounding board to see if the book has had the intended emotional impact.

The Process Of Writing Mindful Moments

This book project has been like none other I’ve ever worked on. First, it’s taken way longer to write than a book written in the traditional way. Secondly, it’s been so much more enjoyable to let the ideas for the chapters naturally bubble up into my imagination.

This first chapter is the shortest one in the book. My wish is for it to lay the foundation of the mindset that will be needed for the reader to proceed through the following chapters. The way the text appears in this series of beta-reader posts is exactly how the manuscript looks now, bracketed notes and all. All that is missing at this stage is the final formatting, the original illustrations (which I'm very excited to share), and other "bonus material" that will be included in the final version of the book.

I thank you in advance for your notes and feedback in the comments below. It'll be very valuable to me and help to create a book which, hopefully, helps lots of people improve their lives for many years to come.


Chapter One ~ Two Week Media Detox

Our perception of the world today is clouded and skewed. For the sake of survival, through countless centuries of evolution, our brains have been hardwired to give first priority to negativity, situations that could be a threat to our well-being. Those ancient humans who were constantly on the lookout for that dangerous predator lurking in the shadows were the ones who lived to see another day and propagate our species. Today these kinds of harmful predators are nearly non-existent but the residual propensity to search for and focus on that negativity is still there.

The mainstream media have found very effective ways to exploit this negative bias that’s so stubbornly encoded in our DNA. For decades, the media has become more effective at triggering our negative bias and controlling us through our emotions merely for higher ratings and more clicks. The result of this dangerously toxic business strategy of our mainstream media is the extreme polarization of society and constant and often pointless arguing about nearly everything.

Negativity is our world’s true epidemic. We have forgotten how to agree to disagree. We’ve also, increasingly, lost sight of the wonderful thing called consensus, being able to see valid points in opposing views. I say sadly because the middle of the road, or the point between the two extremes is often where the real truth lies. By not seeing this we’re missing out on countless opportunities to learn and to teach.


“See if you can catch yourself complaining, in either speech or thought, about a situation you find yourself in, what other people do or say, your surroundings, your life situation, even the weather. To complain is always nonacceptance of what is. It invariably carries an unconscious negative charge. When you complain, you make yourself into a victim. When you speak out, you are in your power. So change the situation by taking action or by speaking out if necessary or possible; leave the situation or accept it. All else is madness.” ― Eckhart Tolle

[add illustration here]


If you live in a first world nation today you, statistically, live in the safest and most peaceful era in history. However, it doesn’t seem that way because our perception is skewed by the barrage of negative news. Today there’s a growing undercurrent of fear and hatred, an epidemic of doom and gloom, a cacophony of dysfunctional and toxic voices on social and mainstream media outlets. Worst of all friends and family are turning their backs on one another due to differences in opinion. We’ve lost the ability to agree to disagree and this is dangerously unhealthy on several levels and greatly diminishes the quality of our lives.

Disharmony has become the norm, so much so it’s very difficult to find a way out of that mindset. What is the best antidote to this poison of negative bias? It’s impossible to escape all sources of negativity but how you choose to focus your attention is well within your control. The single best antidote I’ve found is a complete and total media detox. Do your best to not consume any mainstream news for two entire weeks. Also, try to scroll right past social media posts that you know will trigger negative bias and try not to engage in any negative dialogue.

This two week break will give your mind and body a chance to cleanse themselves. If you’re diligent, you’ll begin to notice a shift in mindset after just a few days. You’ll be amazed at how much better you’ll feel. The new positive emotional state you’ll gain will become as addictive as the negative bias and will begin a positive feedback loop that will become an incubator that will birth a new state of mindfulness.

As we age we realize how precious time is and our lives are too important to allow ourselves to be controlled by anyone or anything. Remember, every minute wasted on hate and negativity is a portion of our lives lost. When we begin to consciously reclaim our lives, minute-by-minute, we also begin to take back both our freedom and our power.

Use the notes section at the end of this chapter to jot down a few words about your experiences every day of your two week negativity detox. Before putting pen to paper contemplate things like -- Is my mood, mindset, and world view changing? Do I feel differently? Am I communicating with others in a different way? Is my anxiety, and/or anger levels changing? Do I feel more rested when I wake up?

It’s not very often that an author will tell you not to read any more chapters of their book but at this moment I advise you to do just that. For this book to be as effective as possible I will ask you not to read any further until you’ve completed this two week media detox. At the end of these two weeks read through your notes and analyze the progress of your transformation. You will be more conscious of the quality of media you consume and how it influences you.


"Nothing you have today will last forever. Not your job, your house, or your car. Not the people who are closest to you. Not even the people who vowed to never leave your side. Take a moment and accept the fact that life is short and you don’t have a lot of time to be with your loved ones. Someday all those people will no longer be around you, and you can’t possibly know when. Cherish them while you can." ~Mai Pham

[add illustration here]


Your life is like a garden and negativity is one of the most invasive of weeds. It will choke out all that’s good in your life if you let it. To prevent this you must simply weed your garden on a regular basis. This awareness and practice will set the stage for a very powerful form of self-directed evolution that will change the course of your life in wonderful ways. Don’t waste one more second of your life immersed in negativity. Start to dwell on the good and the beautiful and, like a magnet, you will begin to attract more of it into your life.

[Insert 6 blank “Notes” pages]


In Gratitude,

~ Eric Vance Walton ~


I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My meditation book, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

greetings @ericvancewalton what a great idea to create a book using the resource of comments to make the same edition.

I've never heard of Beta-Reader, I think it's great.

maybe you remember me, my ego would like you to remember me hehehe, a few months ago I wrote you and mentioned the creation of my book, you gave me some advice and the first one I already did.

my book has passed the test of being read by strangers and I have been given very good comments, out of 20 people 4 asked me for a second part, I think that is a good sign.

it has crossed my mind to publish it by the blockchain but then I forget it because I want to publish it and sell it in a future, I have postponed that moment because I have let myself be absorbed by hive.

Going back to your post, this book will be a kind of introspection of one's own thoughts, it would be good to include the subject of beliefs, where they originate from and how they can be modified.

those are the topics that i like the most and i develop continuously in my blog, everything related to NLP, beliefs, prosperity, vibrations, energies everything is linked to thought and creation.

thank you, a warm hug.

Thank you, I do remember you and am glad to hear about the success you're having with your book! I appreciate the suggestion about beliefs and I also need to read your blog because it sounds like you write about some interesting topics. Enjoy the rest of your week!

Thanks anyway.

You're welcome.👍🤗

Very interesting what you're saying and very well structured, Eric. I agree with you on almost everything! Too bad I can only be another reader, since my mother tongue is Spanish and I don't speak English very well. Anyway, I like that you propose exercises. Generally, people tell us what the problem is in our behavior, but they don't give us the tools to change it. I'm still reading you. A hug

Thank you, Nancy! I appreciate your support. I'm really hoping to provide the reader with an entire toolbox with this book. I hope you're having a wonderful week!

This book is going to be a wonderful help, especially now that we're going through such drastic changes! Thank you for trusting us with this Eric.
I'm really no language expert but am a real nit-picker, I edit my posts hundreds of times just to change one word! I suggest the following minor changes, sometimes just a comma moved and so forth, but perhaps I'm missing an emphasis, just my humble opinion.
...our brains have been hardwired to give first priority to negativity...
Today this kind of harmful predator is...
If you live in a first world nation today, you statistically live...
Disharmony has become the norm, in as much that it’s very difficult...
Do your best not to consume...
This two week break will give your mind and body a chance to cleanse itself.
This new positive emotional...
...that will be an incubator for the birth of a new state of mindfulness.

I really hope this is the case, Lizelle. The timing of it is a bit late but I think the world will be suffering from the repercussions of this virus (and the reaction to it) for some time to come.

I need nit-pickers so it'll be perfect! Lol. Thank you for pointing out those issues! I'll fix them in the manuscript. This is just what I was hoping for.

Thanks for the comment and the support!

That's for sure especially with the massive job losses and all the negativity in the media so I believe your advice of a two week media detox is excellent!

Thank you my friend! We have the added negativity of the Presidential elections coming up. If you've been following it in the news you'll know it's ramping up to be a real circus too.

I am a big believer in the use of the semi colon; it slows readers down and puts added emphasis on what is next to come in the sentence.

You know darn well I'm no English major so take this suggestion with a grain of Sult.

"We’ve also, increasingly, lost sight of the wonderful thing called consensus, being able to see valid points in opposing views.", your sentence as written. I would change it to read like this,
We’ve increasingly also lost sight of the wonderful thing called consensus; being able to see valid points in opposing views.
Some folks may have their own meaning of consensus but this way you would be making it very clear what your meaning is of the word.

That's my two cents worth of constructive criticism.

Now I will say as I reader that I like the approach you are taking on this book. Like usual I am late to the party so I need to go catch up with your latest chapter.
I can tell you though I will probably be buying signed copies for all of my kids at some point when it is in print.
Looking forward to more,
Sult

Thank you much for that suggestion, Sult! I'll make that change, it makes it a better sentence.

I'm glad you're liking the approach. It's been great to be immersed in something that's positive with all of the stuff going on in the world today. I hope to get this thing published before the country descends into even greater chaos.

Rumors are beginning to swirl now about some last-minute Democratic ticket change for November. They could be just false rumors meant to cause voter indecision about Biden's cognitive state. 2020 has me too disoriented to say one way or another. Lol.

I'd certain appreciate the purchase. I think I'm going to have a portion of the profits of this book go to the Alzheimer's foundation or something similar.

Enjoy your weekend!

I haven't heard any of those rumors, but I also don't get my news & information from traditional sources.

Hell, our three ducks that we have left make as much sense to me with their quackin' as does the folks on the news with their fancy haircuts and clothes. News nowadays is just noise, unpleasant noise at that.

The Democrats can't make a change to late in the game for one reason; mail in voting ballots. It takes time to print and mail the ballots and then allow them to be returned for processing the count. Once the first ballot is mailed out to a voter it is game over on making a change to the ticket.

Even the most ignorant of people have to know that Biden isn't going to be President for more than a week if he were to be declared the winner of the election. He would just hand it off to his VP and go back into his basement.
The VP might change though, that Harris woman has some baggage of her own that will be getting some extensive scrutiny for sure real quickly.

The only thing to do is see how it plays out.
You enjoy the weekend as well,
Sult

I manage to steer clear of MSM on TV but occasionally catch a story online. Most of the time these stories are only smokescreens meant to distract and your point about mail-in voting ballots are proof of that. The Dems would have to make that kind of transition AFTER the election.

I wonder what the protocol is in the case of a President stepping down for health reasons? Wouldn't the next in line for VP be the Speaker of the House?

It's going to be interesting fall.

That would be correct on the VP, and don't think for one minute that "something" wouldn't happen to Harris or whomever the Democrat in the president's chair would be if Nancy P weren't one ending heart beat from being president.

I don't care for Nancy P. She strikes me as someone that power has corrupted absolutely. It's going to be such an interesting fall.

Two small things, hope I don't sound like a jerk. In the second paragraph you use "mainstream media" about three or four times, it becomes a mouthful if that makes sense.

Also, for me (and this is just me...) this sentence didn't flow well in my head.

Disharmony has become the norm, so much so it’s very difficult to find a way out of that mindset.

This is really awesome. I like how you ask them to do the detox before they continue any further. That is really thoughtful which falls right in line with the concept of the book.

This is going to be epic, I can already tell!

This is exactly the kind of feedback I was hoping for! After staring at so many versions of this you just become blind to some things. I appreciate it @bozz! I'm so thrilled with how this is turning out. I really can't wait to see the artist's illustrations. We're close to the finish line now. : )

Thank goodness because I was starting to feel like a pretentious a-hole! I look forward to seeing the finished product too!

Lol. Not at all! This will be published sometime in October barring any 2020-esque hiccups. 😊

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @drrune.

This is an AWESOME project, I love the process you're following and the work you're putting into it. Detox is so necessary at times. I study narratives, and the news are a big part of my study right now. I can vouch for the truth of what you say: media outlets tend to push people's most negative buttons simply to get more traffic, so it's best to just log out sometimes.

I'll keep up with your progress. In the meantime, have you considered translating this book into a videogame? It has potential, especially because of the pauses it requires through the readings.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus. We're also partnered with another amazing healing group, @adiwathrive - follow for dual language curation (English and Spanish), spiritual, musical and heart centred wellness!

Thanks so much for the kind words and support! I've never thought of creating a video game out of this but wouldn't prevent anyone from taking that aspect of it on if they'd like to do it. I'm definitely going to have an audiobook done. This will be the first time I've created an audiobook version of one of my books.

It is true that the majority of mainstream media focuses on negativity, but there are exceptions.

For example, on Twitter, I am following the New York Times columnist Nicholas Kristof. From time to time, his columns are showing optimism.

One example is this one, on Dec. 28, 2019: This Has Been the Best Year Ever

Thanks for the links! It’s always good to have sources of more positive news.

A list of positive news source suggestions might be a good addition to the book!

Positive.News
The Happy News

Granted, those are not mainstream media.

Promoting Hive on Twitter.

Congratulations @ericvancewalton! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 comments. Your next target is to reach 11000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Sorry I took so long to respond, but here are a few things I noticed:

Today these kinds...

For decades, the media

Consider consistency of comma usage when following a timing cue?

world view

I usually use this as one word rather than two. Not really sure about it though. Personal preference?