Just When You Thought You Were Hired...

in #life2 years ago

help-wanted-sign @EverNoticeThat.jpg

The job that I thought I had with the college fell through this week after my supposed hiring last week. They had scheduled me to start orientation, when I received an email that my interview wasn't an "official" interview and they were going with somebody else.

Turns out that the lady that "hired" me got a call from one of her girlfriends on campus who had a baby and begged her for a job. So I was "un-hired" in order to make space for her.

This happens all the time here where staff make sure their friends get jobs no matter how unqualified they are. I did respond to upper management that I was in fact actually interviewed and accepted the position, but we know here how that usually turns out. They're always complaining that they can't find good people and its because of stuff like this.

In order to prevail, I'd have to prove what was said between her and I in the interview, but with no evidence of our conversation, that's impossible so I'm just going to move on.

The one good thing about all of this is that when something adverse happens, it almost always prevents something even worse from occurring. My small consolation prize is that I won a small scholarship today and received an invitation to apply for another.

There are a significant amount of funds that go to waste each year here in the form of scholarships due to no one applying for them. I've blogged about winning scholarships before, and it turns out that the writing skills I've learned through blogging on Hive has helped with that.

It's good to realize that the skills I've gained while blogging on the blockchain have provided me with real-world benefits that will help me on my educational journey.

If you found value in this post, please upvote and reblog

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: [1] @EverNoticeThat Created with Canva


Sort:  

Bummer about the job drama... but it's nice to see someone looking on the bright side of things, at least a little bit. Best of luck going forward! 👊

!LUV
!PIZZA
!PGM
!hivebits

It's really the best way to be right? It seems that no matter what happens to me it always seems to balance and work out for the best in the end. :)

I !LUV it. And I could actually use some of your positive energy right now, so I really do appreciate it. Keep shining that light! 🙏

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@thatcryptodave(2/15) tipped @evernoticethat (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

This happens all the time here where staff make sure their friends get jobs no matter how unqualified they are.

This is quite disappointing, and I do not believe it will aid institutional or business growth. I see same in Ghana, where it is always the people you know that counts and not the qualifications. Unqualified persons in specific roles and jobs can cause a breakdown in any system, resulting in inefficiency. I'm delighted you're taking advantage of the scholarships and putting your skills to good use. Keep up the good work, my dear.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for the supportnad already I have several other opportunities opening up because of this. You can bet I'll put the pedal to the metal and keep moving forward! :)

I’m sorry about the job man. But like you said, adverse things prevents even worse things from happening and in this case, there was the bonus of the scholarship you just won.

I remember you also mentioned to me in my rant post about how my school congress got cancelled that maybe it was for something better.

The system is rigged this way all over the world unfortunately. It’s mostly about who you know these days and that’s why both we people searching for jobs and the institutions hiring suffer. Because jobs are given to unqualified people like you said.

Indeed. But I'm at the point now where looking back, I now wonder what not getting that position has saved me from. Whenever something like this happens, I now look back and go: Aaahhh... that's the bullet I dodged. I can honestly tell you it gives me inner peace and a positive outlook on what's next. The right puzzle piece will fall into place at the correct time. :)