Life Just Carries On...

in #life2 years ago

Time is a funny thing, but life and time are inextricably connected. Funnier still is how due to time's influence life just carries on. That is, we cannot put a stop to life. Yes, a life lost is a life ended, but Life with a capital L just continues. It is almost like life has a mind of its own.

I am standing in my kitchen, looking at the loaves of bread I just baked.

1.jpg

How funny is this thing we call life? The smell of the bread fills my kitchen. I cut a warm slice and eat it outside whilst looking at the clouds covering the mountains. Moments ago, the piece of bread was a wet dough, before that the grain was growing on a farm, before that the ground was walked by animals our imagination cannot fathom. How funny it is that life just carries on.

2.jpg

3.jpg

I started giving smaller practical philosophy classes at my university. It is funny to see how things are just carrying on like the old times. But in the back of my mind is the lingering thought that everything is different, life did not simply just carry on.

Life did not simply just carry on...

4.jpg

5.jpg

Funny how the news we read about wars in other countries shock us, just enough so we spare it a moment, then we just carry on. As if nothing happened. Life carries on. But again, in the back of my mind, this thought that things are different. It is not that more people are becoming aware of what was hidden before, no, I think people knew a long time ago. People just chose not to care. Life just carries on.

6.jpg

Choosing is always political, a grand philosopher once said. This implies that choice is always a choice-for. But also hidden in the choice-for is the immediately infinite concept of choice-against. "Present" in the concept is an always already "absence". That is, in your choice for something there is already an infinite possibility of choices against.

_dsc3261.jpg

Life just carries on. We can kick against this fact, but the sooner we see it the better life will become. Life just carries on. Life just carries on. And time is always there to remind us of the actual measurement of time moving forward...

_dsc3254.jpg

Sort:  

Life does go on indeed,
bread by little bread...

;<)

Indeed! And what is better than enjoying life with a side of bread.

Bloody splendid looking loaves.

Time and indeed life does indeed just carry on. Never quite the same and events as we are seeing these days almost seem accelerated after a period of calm. It's all a bit crazy right now but it doesn't stop.

Thanks! They came out perfectly after a baking-hiatus of a month or so.

And true, things seem to just accelerate. It is funny how it sometimes happens all of a sudden. Various things in my life changed in the last month or so, and everything seems to run away from me. But alas, I have some freshly baked bread with me to see how things just keep on running away.

I was thinking about the outcry against Russia and how after a while itll be just background noise and life will carry on. Unless we blow everything up... But then life will carry on. Enjoyed the simple truth in this post.

Thanks for the visit. And true right. We are so ingrained to only focus for a short while on the news if it is not happening in our backyard. Things seem like they are just happening faster and faster and our ability to keep track of all of it breaks down.

I'm about ready to spread butter all over my screen, this bread looks SO GOOD @fermentedphil I'm drooling. I cut out carbs 2 years ago but now I give myself the joy of homemade bread one slice every third day and I tell you it's like eating a birthday cake , the joy it brings and the flavour. Thanks for this and for me no carbs if I just look ;)

This is true right! Nothing like a slice of a freshly baked loaf of bread (sorry birthday cake! Next time.). But carbs are a problem, especially if you are a baker with not much self-control. I restrict myself to baking only once every two weeks, otherwise, I will only eat bread.