Work. Chores. Sleep. Eat. Repeat.

in #life4 years ago

Evening.

It's been over two weeks now since my wife and I returned home from helping our son and his family move to and get settled in South Carolina. I think that means I can safely say we managed to avoid getting COVID-19, or at least any symptoms thereof, which pretty much puts me where I've been since the pandemic began.

Asymptomatic? Don't know, since I haven't been tested.

Work has been picking up somewhat in that period of time. I finally put in over 30 hours last week, and this week is starting out busier than expected. It looks like I will be heading up to Portland, too, something I wasn't going to do, but a couple of machines are broken, which I'm supposed to go fix. Hopefully, I can figure out what's going on with both of them.

Part of the reason why I worked more hours last week was because I went back to the same places multiple times, mostly for ATMs. Why, I'm not sure, other than maybe it's like that every week, but I'm just not the one making every run. However, there were a couple of times where I went back to add more money when I could have just taken that much to begin with.

If it weren't for the fact that I was a business owner for 15 years of my life, I probably wouldn't even question it. I can't help think how inefficient it is. I also can't help but think it's being done to give me hours, even though someone else in the company believes it's something else: the inability to plan ahead on the part of management.

I'm not so sure about that. I believe there is plenty of problem solving and planning taking place. It's just not communicated ahead of time. Things can and do often change, but virtually every day, I end up somewhere I hadn't known I was going that morning.

Case in point. Today, I was primarily going to stick around in the next town over. I went to do the scheduled route of collections, only to get diverted to the coast to fill a couple of ATMs. Granted, they certainly needed it, and granted, it gives me more hours, but maybe a couple thousand dollars more placed on Friday, when I went, would have staved off another trip until tomorrow, when I was slated to go anyway.

Who knows? I can't really complain, and I'm not trying to. It just goes against my nature to not know what I'm doing from one day to the next. I don't mind spontaneity, but I do like some structure, and right now, that skeleton scaffolding is feeling a little flimsy. Especially since, I'm not even sure how the business is staying afloat. The ATMs seem to be doing well, the jukeboxes are doing okay, and there are a couple of places that are getting back to normal, but for the most part, collections are down by over 50%.

I've been told by a co-worker that the owner of the business applied and received one of the small business loans (not sure if that's the proper term since the money doesn't have to be paid back if certain criteria is met) that was in the last round of pandemic stimulus money the US government threw at the problem a couple months back. If so, that would explain why I'm working at all, I guess, depending on how much was available.

people-5431895_1280.jpg
Yeah, it's kind of like that, only one kid's actually wearing his mask.

I continue to wear a mask everywhere I go in, even though most patrons aren't wearing masks themselves, because of the magic bubble that surrounds them while they eat and drink (or just sit there waiting). Most employees have theirs on, no matter what's going on, though if they're the business owner, they might not be wearing theirs depending on the moment.

Personally, I find myself in a rather peculiar place, one I'm not entirely used to, but kind of like. It's a place that is mostly non-judgmental. I can't blame someone who doesn't want to wear a mask for their entire work shift, and I can't get after those who manage to do so, either. I wear mine because I want to keep my job until I find something else. As soon as I'm outside, it comes off. I don't wear it in the van driving around like I see others do. I've yet to figure out why that happens (especially when it's just the driver), other than they've gotten so used to the mask they forget it's on.

I hope that never, ever happens to me. I don't want to get used to the mask.

traffic-2158790_1280.jpg
More and more, this is a fair representation of my view while I'm driving to work sites.

As I drive around from place to place, I marvel at the number of vehicles that are on the road during the day. Surely, they can't all be on their way to work, or a job site, like I am, so that means they're doing other things—on vacation, going to the store, going to visit someone, etc. It certainly doesn't look like the early days of the pandemic, where it was more like an early Saturday or Sunday morning than a work day.

A lot of that traffic is heading to, on, and leaving the coast. It took forever to get around today. You would think August would be a good time to go, and it might be if you desire to beat the inland heat (today it got into the 90s, while the coast was barely over 60). It was sunny, but it was also pretty windy, so while it wasn't foggy or raining, it was still blustery and colder than one might expect. September is actually the better month to go, but generally that's when summer vacation is over.

Except, who knows what public school is going to look like heading into the fall.

Another thing that I've been noticing of late is how fast traffic goes when it can. For the most part, Oregon's top speed is 65 mph, especially down the I-5 corridor. Lately, people have been driving 75, and that's in the slow lane. I found myself going around that speed in the fast lane, just to move over to let some folks going over 80 pass me. I'm convinced a new speed law got signed into law while I wasn't looking, but the speed signs have yet to change. I'd say it's my imagination, but even the police don't seem to be pulling over people.

I noted a couple of months ago that the police presence had beefed up quite a bit. Now, I'm not seeing them nearly as much as I did. Maybe they've been volunteering from around the state to help out in Portland since there's been violence and destruction going on by so-called protestors. I don't think the response to it has been handled all that great, on any side, but does it really matter who's destroying what? It just needs to stop, while people are allowed to exercise their first amendment rights, whether I agree with their cause or not.

IMG_3227.JPG
Proposed dinner schedule for the next 10 days.

My wife and I finally sat down and came up with a menu for the next week and a half for dinners. I'm primarily the one who gets home first, so I've been picking up some more cooking duties (although there have been plenty of days where I don't get home much earlier than she does).

That is one of the main drawbacks of not having my younger son's family here. There's no one else to cook, who's home and available to do it. Added to that is the fact that instead of four adults and two children to cook for, there's only two. I've managed to make meals that were consumed in the same night, but that doesn't leave leftovers for my wife to take in her lunch the next day. So, we're not wasting food, but I guess I need to make a little more.

IMG_3226.JPG
Tomorrow night's dinner concoction—ground turkey and zucchini were actually a part of the recipe, the bell peppers and black beans were not.

Tonight, I cooked something that's supposed to feed six. Since I added a few more ingredients, it might actually feed more. Neither of us were feeling very hungry (heat can do that to you), so my wife may take it for lunch tomorrow, but that's what we're having for dinner tomorrow night.

My wife worked six ten-hour days last week, five of them for the hospital/sleep centers. She should have had Saturday off, but one of her bosses asked if she could come in and she said yes. It does mean overtime, it just means less time for us to try to do anything together. Which has been the case for the last two weeks, and for a lot of it before that.

We have a tentative plan for this Thursday to go do something, though I'm not sure what. She's got a doctor's appointment in the morning, so whatever it is will have to happen after that.

That's basically my life. It's been like this for a while now, I just had more free time, at least in the evenings. Now, not so much. I probably should go see if tomorrow's dinner was removed from the oven and if the bed got made.

Okay, looks like both happened.

My wife is very responsible, more than me at times. My only concern really was she's tired a lot in the evenings after work, so she can fall asleep watching television while I'm out here in the office attending to whatever.

Anyway, bedtime is fast approaching. Better get this posted.

Onward and upward.

Top two images source—Pixabay. Bottom images courtesy of Glen Anthony Albrethsen

Sort:  

I think some of the mask thing is more people are seeing the numbers and the push to control a narrative that just isn't there. While it is serious, no more so it appears than the flu, especially once one looks at perhaps criminal maneuvers such as pushing sick people into nursing homes and forcing ventilators down peoples throats while publishing fake peer reviewed papers disqualifying promising medicine (which appears to be because it can't be patented and only costs like 5.00 instead of 3000.00). Then one sees inflated numbers (die by being shot or motorcycle accident but counted as a Covid death) and it starts coming off as a blown out of proportion panic that they won't fess up to.

Glad your hours are picking up. Some of the stimulus appears to pay employers to keep folks on the payroll and off unemployment, so wondering if that's why they are seeming to create work for you.

Hey, @practicalthought.

I appreciate the kind thoughts. I'm sure it must be helping, because the collections alone aren't really enough to have me working more than maybe 15 hours a week.

re: mask thing

I suppose some of it could be more people realizing what's going on. I live in a fairly liberal state, though more conservative and practical where I live and for the most part, that's the way the smaller towns and rural areas are, so putting two and two together when it's their folks in charge isn't a high priority.

I think it's more human nature—masks are hot, stuffy, and not so fashionable, no matter how much they want to make them to be.

As for everything else, as I said, I don't think the liberals here are following any of that stuff, and I doubt the younger people are too any great degree.

It would be nice, though. Might mean something come election time. From what I can tell, though, it's all pretty much same ol' same ol' and full speed ahead with it.

Cooking for just two must be a pretty big change. I remember cooking for just one, (myself), and then for two. it took a while before I learned how much food was needed, and still end up with left overs a lot. Most recopies are for four people and halving of ingredients does not always work so I got pretty used to just throwing stuff in a pot and hoping for the best.

In Alaska the tourist season is pretty much all Alaskans. Not a lot of out of staters, so Alaskans are taking advantage and visiting places they have not in a few years. I would guess there is a lot of in state vacation travel going on in lots of places due to second wave fears and border closures.

Hey, @bashadow.

We were on our own for several months several years ago, before everyone started coming back at different times, and I don't even remember what it was like, but I wasn't in the cooking rotation yet because I was working and my wife wasn't yet.

We've still got leftovers from a meal I made for Tuesday, so yeah. :) It's been posting some other meals I'd like to actually eat.

re: halving recipes

Yeah, I've come across that, particularly in the smaller measurements, or when something ends up going from being measured in cups to tablespoons. So far, it's worked out.

re: tourist season

We'll get people from everywhere, with the majority from either Washington or California. I think I've seen more of the Washington vacationers this time around. I believe Washington and California both have stricter limits right now, so no doubt they're coming here to do whatever it is they're wanting to do there.

There certainly is a lot of instate traveling, and it's accompanied by all the out of state that can get here.

i haven't checked lately, but I think Canada still has closed border, and in Alaska last I did check, (a bout a month ago), we still had a two week quarantine that people had to go through. It has been pretty nice with fewer motor homes on the road.

!ENGAGE 25

I really hope best for you and your wife, I love the way you mention her and respects her in your blogs. she is one lucky lady.
Here too, we are going out with masks only. whether its work or whatever.

Hey, @praditya.

Thank you for the well wishes. I believe we will be just fine. This is where I've wanted to be for years as far as the two of us on our own—I just didn't envision it with my wife working. Life likes to throw us curves, though. :)

re: lucky lady

I assure you the fortunate one is me. :)

re: masks

Seems to be the order of the day, whether it's really truly helping or not.

I've noticed the traffic here is heavier than it used to be during the day. Maybe it's because so many people are out of work, but still okay to travel because we've not had tight restrictions. We've also had a covid supplement for those on welfare, which has eased things financially for many, but that will be dialled back a bit next month. I wonder if it will show on the road. 🤔

Hey, @minismallholding.

Okay. So an increase in traffic there, too. Interesting. I'm sure many people just want to be out of the house for now, and since the weather here has been warmer and nicer, I'm sure that's contributing, especially as far as the coast goes. With life and the future uncertain, you tend to live in the now.

re: tight restrictions

Well, I'm glad to hear that. I don't think it's really helped as much as they claim it will, especially given the toll it's taking on the economy.

re: covid supplement

Here, they pretty much gave it to most everyone. This time around, they're easing off. The unemployment benefits from the feds may or may not happen since it's via executive order only. Like everything else, there's a lot of political in fighting going on, which is fine. I don't think we need to rush to spend another $1 trillion we don't have.

Just checking in Glen, I hope all is well.

Hey, @abh12345.

Thank you for checking in on me. Very thoughtful. Cool that anyone even noticed my absence. :)

Things are okay, given all of the potential circumstances, I suppose. Still alive, still breathing, still working to a degree, and so forth.

Just haven't found much motivation for HIVE lately. I'm hoping that will go away, but it's going to get harder since my wife wants me to work on some form of schooling again, and I've chosen programming (specifically Python at the moment), so I probably shouldn't go wasting the $50 a month for the online course. :)