Country Livin'

in #life2 years ago

When my aunt started talking about getting herself a house in the country early on this year, I figured it was just another of her crazy plans. I mean, I was supportive from the start, largely because like her, I've seen the benefits of owning a little place of your own outside of the city. Where they can't lock you up, or tell you whom to see. That's big in a post-pandemic world. Still, I never figured she'd actually do it, or that it'd end up being so damn cool.

285546848_432548704963118_3213091016752007460_n.jpg

But she did. In less than a month, an old home was sold, and a new one discovered, though to even imagine how much space you can get outside the city for the price of a 3-bedroom apartment is insane. The house itself is a villa, not even a house. It's got four large bedrooms, a living space, an immense kitchen, two workshop rooms for my aunt (she paints), two bathrooms, and two immense storage rooms. Not to mention a huge garden.

Now, it's funny 'cause most people here in Ro have someone (an aunt, grandparents, etc.) in the country, and are well-accustomed to life "in the yard" as we say here. Except for us. We've never had someone to go to in the country, which makes everyone's knowledge of anything vaguely garden-y or farmer-y slim to none. But I guess this is a year for learning new things about yourself.

285053436_464524198766554_7453954180934905578_n.jpg

Much of the last week has been spent helping out over there, moving, packing, unpacking, cleaning. And looking at the stars. God damn, I never knew you could see the stars so well, but then, that's what happens when you get yourself into the pitch black.

When I was smaller, I couldn't have cared less about nature, but now, I've come to appreciate it a lot more. There's something about fresh air and quiet that you just can't get in the city. Not that I'll ever really be a country person. I love the thrum of urban life a little too much. There's always something to do in here. Except look at the stars, I guess, but maybe there can be compromise.

What I loved best about this intense week (seriously, I don't think I've cleaned as much in my entire life) was I got a chance for some introspection. It allowed me to break my usual routine, and just lose myself in numbing physical work. Which, in turn, revealed some direction, which I've been lacking lately. So I guess that's two points for the country.

Anyway, what have you been doing?

285710197_1645012292520972_2686782946771903261_n.jpg

Look, we even picked cherries!

Sort:  

God, that sounds like pure heaven to me. I was a big city-person until I was in my forties. Now that I'm in my fifties I crave the solitude of nature.

I've been writing and cycling a lot lately. Still waiting on the Tesla but it looks like it'll be delivered within the next 3-4 weeks, for sure. I'm super excited about that.

Enjoy those wide open spaces!

It was pretty lovely! Took a bit of time to break free, you know. Oh my, that's so exciting! I can't wait to hear what you think about it.

It looked great. I always feel more grounded after spending time away from the city. It's going to be a lot of fun getting to know this car. With the gasoline prices going parabolic it's pretty lucky timing too.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more