Work Hard, PLAY HARDER ~ #treatyoself

in #life3 years ago

IMG_1781.jpg

It's been a little over 2 months since we crossed the imaginary line into what is known as Meh-He-Co. The past few weeks I've been hammering down trying to figure out a way to make our stay down here as permanent as possible. Basically, trying to create a business that would suffice our bills while also being something that I personally enjoy and love doing vs. a JOB. You know, those things people sit in traffic for hours, day and night, placating to people they hate to pay for things they don't need? Ya, that job.

The wife and I had our first date day scheduled for yesterday. We had a baby sitter lined up and the plan was happy hour cocktails and dinner at a 5 star restaurant.

IMG_1784.jpg

As fate would have it, I had a business meeting earlier that afternoon about a prospective restaurant....and it went really well. Like, it's 99% gonna happen.

I still feel nervous and have doubts about throwing tens of thousands of dollars at this to see if it might work. But hey, what have I got to lose besides my life savings, right? And even then, as my great-grandma Dolly would say, "it's just money, not even pigs will eat it." Man, I miss that woman, she was one of a kind.

Any who, just thought I would share some pics form our night out. If all you do in life is slave away, what's the point? As my old man would say, "find a job you love, and you'll never work a day in your life."

So we went to semi-celebrate the possibility of this new venture, and enjoy some quality semi-alone time from the kids. We still had our 9 month old with us, Spooner, but he passed out at the restaurant, lol.

IMG_1787.jpg

Pumpkin Lobster Bisque

IMG_1792.jpg

Filet Mignon w/ scalloped potatoes

IMG_1794.jpg

Seared Ahi Tuna

IMG_1796.jpg

Passed out baby in loving arms of momma

Thanks for keeping up with me here.

Hive on y'all.

hive banner.jpeg

Sort:  

Nice, you want to start a restaurant? Awesome! I keep my fingers crossed for you. Just be aware (which I'm sure you already know) that one thing Mexico is great for, is making things look really well, at least until you've thrown your money at it. But please don't let me talk things down for you. I'm actually super excited for you and would love to hear more about it. What kind of restaurant are you thinking about?

Yeah man, I was a restaurant manager back home, so I know the ropes pretty well. But like you said, this is Mexico, not the US, so things can def be a little different.

that one thing Mexico is great for, is making things look really well, at least until you've thrown your money at it.

Well I'm in pretty good shape, the space is on the second floor, and it used to be a restaurant, so it's already set to go and the owner is a well known local business man who I met with yesterday. We are aligned in our hopes and dreams, in that he wants a good tenant long term, and I want to be there long term. So as long as he keeps his word, my rental income will keep flowing his way. Long story short, his incentives are to keep me happy as a tenant, so it's a win-win. Even said he wouldn't make me pay rent if another shut down happened, which was just a big deal for me because paying money for something you can't use isn't ideal for anyone.

It's going to be a sports bar. Lots of tv's, cheap beer, bar food but slightly elevated seeing as the city it's in is one of the ritziest in the area, Punta de Mita. Right outside the gates of the 4 seasons and many other really expensive hotels and condos. There isn't anything else like it in the area, and not being directly on the beach keeps my costs low enough that I can afford.

I also have a friend that owns a 5 unit airbnb a few blocks away, so he's gonna direct all his guests there to for food and drink.

I'm really excited and trying to keep my expectations tempered, but hopeful and praying it all works out.

I really appreciate your support man, keep those good vibes coming this way!

Sounds quite exciting! Yes, I believe a sports bar can have potential. Even though one might not think it fits into the Mexican culture, these things are quite popular, at least from what I can tell here in Mexico City. Many people get more excited about American football than Mexican soccer games, and occasionally even NHL and NBA. The target audience is of course a bit more upscale, but not necessarily so. Though with the ritzy place you should be perfectly located, especially since there is nothing similar nearby.

So again, I keep all my fingers crossed, and look forward to reading about the grand opening.

The target audience is of course a bit more upscale

For sure. I don't plan to negate or try and not service the locals, but with the 4 seasons a block away, it's very touristy and a lot of those wealthy Americans, Canadians, and so-on love their Hockey and Football. Along with baseball, basketball, and of course, soccer.

I want everyone to be welcomed and feel at home. It's definitely a part of Mexico I have never seen before. Half locals/half tourists...really neat if you ask me, I really enjoy it.

I'm looking forward to it too, man. Lots of hard work and shelling out lots of money soon enough, but the end results should hopefully leave me satisfied, content, and most of all, happy!

If it all works out, I hope to see you up here soon enough ;)

This sounds so good! Best of luck, and Great Success! 😜

Thanks again man, much appreciate the words of encouragement.

Great photos of the fam dude! Thanks for sharing!
Good luck on the business meeting, etc... the good thing is that you seem young enough so that if it all does go to hell then you should be able to bounce back, even if it means getting a job (gross). Hope it all works out!

Thanks man. It's definietly nice to see the wife smile like that be happy just being able relax a bit, this move has been more rough on me than her.

Yeah, I still got some years to go I'd hope, lol. You only die once, and live everyday, so I'm carpe diem'ing that shit.

Appreciate the words man. Lmk when you're coming across the pond to sit at the bar!

Will do... although I think I'd just need to cross the border... I'm actually in Oregon at the moment trying to do all the adventures.

Oh, hahahaha! Yeah, you’ve already made that trek. Well at least we’re on the same coast!

Wow that's some absolutely killer work in the kitchen man.

Beautiful work and if you believe you can do anything...

Yeah man, I wish I could take credit for it, lol! The place is called Mark's, and the pics didn't even do the flavor justice. It was delicious.

I have the faith man, just gotta put in the work now.

I appreciate the words.

You are very welcome we believe in you man!

IMG_20210805_131554519.jpg

OMG, you both look so happy. I have my fingers AND toes crossed for you guys, it sounds soooo promising. I wish you all the best, I have no doubt you are going to be a smashing success.
Don't ya love date nights, we just had one a couple of nights ago and although we don't have the kids around, we seem to get busy and don't set aside time to celebrate, umm well, each other. So, by declaring it's date night in the early morning hours, we both know to knock off early and get all dressed pretty, cuz we going out! Life is what you make it and I think you two are on the path to total victory. Love the sports bar theme, it's gonna rock!

It was really nice to get out, semi-alone. In between the HH and the dinner, we just sat in our suburban with the AC cranked like, "we don't know what to do with ourselves!!", lol. But we thoroughly enjoyed the night out.

You gotta make the time. Otherwise months fly by and you wonder when the last time you went out is was.

Much appreciation for all the love and support. It reallllly means a lot. If all goes well, I hope to have you and @thebigsweed's butts on my bar stools sooner than later.

OHHHH now that would be nice, I have never been to Mexico. @thebigsweed likes to stay in the US, although we have been to some islands over the years. He also hates to fly, so I'll probably have to get him drunk, then ask if we can go, then I'll have to keep him drunk until we land in MEH-HE-CO.😀😁😂🤣😎😍

so I'll probably have to get him drunk, then ask if we can go, then I'll have to keep him drunk until we land in MEH-HE-CO.

Sounds like a PLAN.

Lmk when you're coming and I'll pick ya up from the airport. Got a lot of friends and family coming in February. Start planning 😬

You are too much. I think you would keel over if you saw us sitting at the bar, cocktail in hand.
Of course you would not be alone in the keeling, the big guy would probably keel first after the plane ride.😁😂🤣

hahahaha, I just gave him the recipe to make the flight. We'll see what he says....

Good luck!

Thanks big guy!

Will this establishment except Steem as payment? Asking for a friend.

accept? hehehe, nah, I wouldn't take that trash if ya paid me 🤣

But I am studying and learning how I can accept crypto in general and how I could market Hive without being Hive Sports Bar. Like, that'd be cool, but not sure the brand fits a sports bar, hahaha.

Thats AWESOME @intothewild !!! Exactly up my Alley. I have dine similar in the past with a pizzeria and wanting to start something now also. Blessings your way 🍀 Beautiful Fam btw

I appreciate the words man. Excited that you're excited for me, haha.

Keep me up to date on your own venture man. Where about's are ya thinking?

Right where i am at :). If i had the money, i could shut down these jokes of a food businesses. Jump in with both feet brah, man handle that ish 💪😎

Congratulations man. And her teeth are still gorgeous btw.

Grandma's Rock!

You know flies won't eat margarine? I didn't get that from my grandmother or anything and unless you plan on stocking your restaurant with some it has little to nothing to do with your content and just something I thought I'd let you in on.

I showed her your message and she smiled, flashing me those white as snow pearls. Some are boob men. Some are ass men. I'm a face man. That smile did me in. The boobs and ass were just a plus.

Grandmas do rock. Sadly, my moms mom is getting pretty crotchety. She says she's ready to go but the lord is keeping her put for the time being.

I always appreciate some irrelevant knowledge from you. Thanks for keeping me up on my game bro.

My pleasure. More irrelevant knowledge:

• I have no grandmas.
• I'm an ass first kinda man who immediately welcomes all other features.


Don’t hate, don’t discriminate. Love it all.