You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Final Plea: Why I'm Powering Down

in #life7 years ago

How would you suggest changing the current steemit then @jacobt

I agree with what you have posted above, but how would you go about making the platform better so we can all benefit from this.

Sincerely,
@joeparys

Sort:  

Glad you asked Joe.

Firstly, I would extend the second window for rewards in perpetuity, such that it's continually awarded payouts on a regular basis (daily/weekly). This would, in fact change the dynamics greatly, but it'd encourage people to update content they have that's great and further encourage high quality content. Don't forget that Google loves this, so Steemit would gain a lot from the SERPs.

Secondly, language preference filtering. I don't know Korean, unfortunately.

Thirdly, a greater understanding from the community and maybe a section, for generosity and charity. It's not surprising that these types of articles have become commonplace. But, if they don't stop rising to the top of Steemit regularly/daily, new people coming to the platform aren't going to frequent the site. And they certainly aren't going to invest their money into STEEM tokens.

What's needed for Steemit to move forward are companies willing to promote their own blog content because the readership is of high quality, the site is known for amazing content, etc. Right now it's a hodgepodge of random crap: mostly girls globetrotting around, charity pleas, and nerdy crypto crap (that I love), but the rest of the world doesn't care about.

When Steemit starts getting articles floating to the top that resemble articles frequently seen on Medium, it'll start looking promising. Until that point, it's just going to fade away as another quirky blogging platform with an awesome model to reward bloggers, but with little interest from the outside for further investment.

Keep in mind, that STEEM is inflationary. The blockchain just prints more money, devaluing your STEEM to pay out to bloggers. The only way to encourage people to want to invest in this is through utility or speculation. Speculation is looking a little bleak at the moment and utility is diminishing.

Whoa.... @jacobt Steemit is supposed to be an alternative to social media, not blogging... or is it a combination of the two? As an influencer on both Twitter and Medium I can say that Steemit is more twitter than it is Medium, mixed in with a bit of Tumbler. It's what Facebook used to be...

I happen to hate reading most Steemit blogs, with the exception of a few alt-life topics that I manage to find, because, well.. they just aren't that readable. It's like reading a reddit post at times. It's like a club of crypto traders typing stuff simply to earn more crypto. When I do find high quality content, the formatting or readability kills any chance that I might read it. The general public doesn't have the patience for all that. I base this on my professional experience as a content marketer and my medium experience.

If we want to say this place should be anything like Medium, we'd have to get celebrity bloggers on here to set the bar, and they should probably bring a few of their followers as well.

I think it's more fitting to view this platform like a microblogging site where emotional displays and pretty pictures always trend higher than high quality content. ... just like the rest of social media.

I invested to STEEM and looking for long term commitment.

I agree with your assessment with contents, you nailed it. The steemit platform needs to provide enforce some rules with regards to contents and comments.

I hope it will happen soon, otherwise steemit will be just another spam bot cms.

Follow me @Yehey
Thank you.

STEEM is an inflationary token. That means they print more of it. That means that the value of 1 STEEM token today will be worth less tomorrow, unless... demand increases for it. So, ask yourself, what is going to cause more people to buy more STEEM and why.

I think that people being real, and posting real content is more valuable than "quality" content. More people will be attracted to what is real rather than to read "professional bloggers only" content.

Professional bloggers can be real. Unfortunately, like other forms of social media, it's hard to get a following when you are a newbie. So why bother coming here if you are already getting paid to write. Plus when the only way you can make money is if you get the attention of a whale, this site is very unattractive. I know professional bloggers on this site that make money, but they've been here for over a year and built a following, or started with one in the first place.

These are interesting propositions.

I'm starting curation accounts myself. None of the "pay me for resteem sir" service stuff. Just a nice account stocked daily with curated posts around a specific topic I consider to be high quality.

Perhaps, this platform could end up being led by myriad tailored curation accounts like the one I'm starting. Again, unpaid curation accounts.

We could potentially solve the problem this way and stamp out the trash posts without going all commie and outlawing them or anything.

Like independent journals on the platform.

Ah, yes. I get it now. I agree too. When people from outside look at the trending section of Steemit, they should see a variety of awesome. I DO think crypto-topics are overwhelming that streem of content for outsiders to relate to easily, and the success of panhandlers would not make it much better in that sense. I think my new idea might help. I'll throw it around a little and see if it's worth attempting.

Oh, and I agree that the 7 day limit might be more of a problem than a solution. 7 day payout cycles work, but older material deserves to be rewarded for newer upvotes, I think. I have yet to hear an explanation of why this isn't already the case.

I agree with you on the older contents .. Not everybody will see the post the same time since they get buried

Your proposed solution is great @jacobt . I love it and thanks for that. But a question is how do we stop the issue of some people who prefer to upvote themselves. No matter how great a content is, they will never upvote you.

Let people upvote themselves. If you don't allow that, they're just going to find other ways around it with different accounts. I don't think personal upvotes are a huge issue. Also, if the content is great, people WILL upvote it.

But, just because you think it's great, doesn't mean others will think it's great. Likewise, it may be great content, but doesn't reach a mass audience. This is why pop news and terrorist bullshit gets plastered on prime-time TV, b/c it appeals to the masses, and the more viewers, the more money in ads.

Find something that's highly unique that appeals to a larger pool of people, spend the time to actually write it well, choose awesome images that complement the piece and always link to additional reading and sources.

God bless you for the kind gesture

Thank you for the advice.. Thou art great.. Really could use this

@oddnugget, I think you have got an amazing idea here. Making curation accounts for specific topics is one of the sure ways for great posts to get noticed and praised. Even if the payout were not great to start with, it will still encourage people to continue posting great contents.
Eventually these "hodgepodge of random crap: mostly girls globetrotting around, charity pleas, and nerdy crypto crap" as @jacobt smartly named it will have their own space and will not prevent everything else from appearing under the detection radar.

Thanks for sharing the idea :)

I dont think there is a way out of it because most people prefer to upvote themselves. And people get desperate if they spend hours on posts and dont get anything out of it..