Covid test day 😮👃 OUCH, A nice lazy Sunday 😊

in #life • 3 years ago

I have had a lovely quiet weekend with my daughter Nichola staying out over the weekend. We have tidied the house up, relaxed and enjoyed some TV together, this is how it will be once Nichola moves out full time. I managed a weekend with hubby not sure I could do it full time. Hopefully by the time she moves out hubby will have mellowed a bit.

I had breakfast in bed then took my time getting up, I had to look after Nichola's Parrot whilst she was away. I uncovered Sprout waking her from her sleep, she squawked at me, she doesn't like it when we uncover her as means she has to wake up, never known a bird to sleep as much as she does. I let her play in the cage until she settled down then transferred her to her smaller cage, we can carry this one around. She will sit with us for a few hours downstairs, she loves being amongst everyone sadly we can't let her fly around here with having 3 pups. Nichola will take her upstairs when she comes home, she will fly around Nichola's room.

Once Nichola was home we decided it was the best day and time for us to start the Home Lateral Covid Tests. I haven't had a test before. Ours arrived yesterday,its best to wait until everyone is together before doing the test.

The whole test comes in a blue and white box.

Covid set.jpg

I was shocked at how much stuff is used for the test, so many little bags plus a separate bag to put the used items in.

Covid set 2.jpg

We checked we had everything by reading the information booklet that comes with it, this shows step by step how to use each piece.

Covid set 3.jpg

You can't use this if you have eaten something 30 prior, the are you use has to be sanitised as does your hands before opening any of the bags, you also have to blow your nose before using the stick.

You then have to open the bag that contains the little packets of liquid, using one and pouring into the small tubes then placing the tube into the hole at the base of the box, this holds the tube safely. You take one cotton bud then opening your mouth wide making sure the cotton doesn't touch your tongue and insides of your mouth, you are aiming for your tonsils or if you have had them removed you aim for the area they would have been, moving the stick to each tonsil rubbing each tonsil 4 times then remove to stick up your nose as far as it will go, do this slowly and don't use any pressure, turning the cotton ball 10 times before removing, Me and Nichola had a sneezing fit whilst hubby had a coughing fit it wasn't a nice feeling. You then put the cotton end into the liquid in the tube making sure to press of any liquid by pulling the stick out pressing on the inside of the tube. Then you seal the tube turn it over dropping 2 drops on to the test palette where its marked with an S.

Covid set 4.jpg

You then have to wait 30 minutes for your results. You will get a line next to the C, this shows the test is working properly. If the results stay with the one line after 30 minutes then you are clear of Covid, if a line shows next to the T you then have Covid and need to report your results to the gov.uk website, isolate with anyone you live with for 2 weeks. As you can see my test was all clear as was Nichola's and hubby's.

They send you 7 tests each in your individual boxes, you take a test 3-4 days later or if needed and order tests whenever you need them. This is to keep control of the virus. *I won't be rushing to do another one as they actually hurt a little and are very uncomfortable.

That was our Sunday, a pretty boring but relaxed day, no pressure and the weather stayed nice. Usually at this time of year we have had loads of rain as hubby usually get sent home from work, we haven't had a drop this month. I love the dry warm weather but need the rain to water my plants so if anyone has a rain dance I can use if I get desperate please message me.

I am now off to bed to rest my worn out bones, I have everything crossed that tomorrow is the day I hear from my Doctor about the results from the MRI scan on my back, hopefully he has a magic pill to make it better.

Thank you for visiting 💟

hiveblogshare 4.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @karenb54! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!