Pulling more Sunflower Seeds for next year. 🌻🌱 I am being nagged into getting another pup πŸ•β€πŸ¦Ί mam says NO

in #life β€’ 3 years ago

Someone help me please, hubby and my daughter are nagging me. Me and hubby have been chatting over the weekend about what we are going to do when we both retire. We want to go travelling and see more of the country we live in. We are going to buy motorhome. By then sadly we would have lost 2 of our pups. We had a German Shepherd he died in 2010, we have always said we would lobe another, My daughter and hubby are trying to get me a agree to a Germen Shepherd pup now, That oud mean we had 4 dogs and I have said no, the house isn't big enough, our bed isn't big enough. and 4 dogs would be far to much. We have decided that we will get one when we retire.

To get away from there nagging I slipped out into my garden and hid behind my Sunflowers where I have my seat. Its my quiet place where I get to enjoy my Sunflowers and Bee patch where there is loads of Lavender and Bee homes.


SUNFLOWER GARDEN 1 (2).jpg

When I sit there I can see through the Sunflower stalks if anyone is coming out I can crouch down so they can't see me. The Sunflower heads that I had waiting until the seeds were ready to be pulled where ready. I have 2 long trays which I laid a couple of sheets of kitchen towel on each tray then pulled the seeds adding the seeds from one plant to one tray and the second head to the second tray. I now have 3 trays full of Sunflower seeds drying out.


SEEDS 2.jpg

I also have quite a few heads still blooming that I will pull the seeds from. I have just ordered a set of airtight containers to store them for next year. I am excited about planting my own Sunflower seeds next year.

I still have to find out how to take seeds from Teddy Bear Sunflowers, they are beautiful flowers they look different from the usual Sunflowers, Teddy Bears look fluffy. This is my first time growing them and very happy I did. I planted them at the base of the tall Sunflowers as they only grow around 12inches, they brighten up the base of the pots.


TEDDY BEAR 2.jpg

I eventually had to go back indoors they were both still looking at German Shepherds for sale, I put my foot down saying as much as I would love to have a German Shepherd we really can't manage 4 dogs, the house is way to small as a German Shepherds are large dogs, they are great by themselves but with 3 smaller pups it would be a nightmare. I have promised we will get one (We have our heart set on a white German Shepherd) When we both retire. Hopefully that is the last I hear about it but knowing my daughter she will never shut up.

If I was younger and healthier maybe I would have 4 dogs, I have always wanted a large enough place to save a few rescue dogs but sadly I am disabled and getting on and we live in a 3 semi detached house. Not enough room and I honestly haven't got the patience for 4 dogs.

Thank you for visiting. πŸ’ŸπŸ’Ÿ


hive-blog-share 5.jpg