Rebuilding our relationship πŸ’‘ Trying to reconnect πŸ‘¨ πŸ‘© ❀️ 😍

in #life β€’ last year

I have been married for 33 years and raised 2 lovely young ladies that I'm extremely proud of. My oldest daughter was hard work to raise as she had behavioral problems ADHD - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, ODD - Opositional Disorder and Aspergers. Raising her took a lot out of us as parents. Hard work and stressfull, we did stick together but there was a few times when we both had had enough. Now my girls are grown and have there own lives leaving me and hubby at home alot together we seem to have lost the relationship we once had. We didn't notice until my oldest daughter gave us a granddaughter, I have spent a few days away from home which I've never done before this has opened my eyes at our now relationship.


20220829_204248.jpg

I now looked at my hubby as a friend and nothing more, we barely spent any time talking or planning our future. Hubby noticed we were becoming distant, him doing his things such as Golf which he admitted sometimes he plays way to muchand me dissappearing to my daughters to spend time with our granddaughter. We both weren't putting anything into our relationship and I did consider leaving. I can't remember the last time we had a cuddle.

We needed to sit down and talk, we had to be truthful with each other and respect each others feelings. So much had happened over the last 33 years now it was our time again we had lost touch with each other. Today we talked about what we wanted and were we prepared to try to get our relationship back on track. We had always planned for our retirement, how we wanted to travel around the UK seeing more of the country we live in. Did we both want that and are we prepared to get to know each other again.

Today was a good day, just me and hubby having a talk about what we wanted and where we wanted to be. We have both decided to take one day at a time abs work at getting closer. I don't want anyone else, really couldn't be bothered with starting a new relationship and he was the same, so for our first day we decided to have a date day.

I got up as early as I could, got showered and dressed then off to do a few jobs we had been planning for a while. My laptop needed fixing, thankfully it is insured. We took it back to the shop we bought it from and from the same shop we decided to treat ourself. We've always put the girls first so anything we waved was always forgotten about. Me and hubby love our coffee, we have always wanted a bean to cup machine that made a good range of coffees. We were going to be spending a lot of time at home so treating ourself would make our time alone a bit more enjoyable plus we bought ourselfs a 55in TV, We don't go out very much, I'm housebound so a bigger TV would help us both. We have to start thinking about us putting our needs first, sorry 2nd after my granddaughter.


Screenshot_20221030_001458_Chrome.jpg

We brought the coffee machine and TV home, I'm going to get someone in to hang the TV on the wall instead of standing on a stand. We then went out for food, we decided to try somewhere we had never been, this was to start our new start, we chose a Greek restaurant called BunBun, weird name but the food was gorgeous and hubby never complained once, Hes always found something to complain about in every place weve gone, today he loved it and wants to go back.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselfs, hubby said he had loved spending the day with be and we should go out once a week/fortnight for a meal just the Two of us. We laughed alot without any cross words and found we still had a connection to work with. Hubby has promised me he is going to try harder with his grumpiness, he does moan quite a bit and I've promised to relax more around him and spend more time with him in the evening instead of going up to bed to early.

We are taking one day at a time, talking more and including each other in things we do. Our first day was a success and we both went to bed still speaking to each other. Made a nice change.

Thank you for visiting. πŸ’ŸπŸ’Ÿ


hive-blog-share 5.jpg

Sort: Β 

I'm sure you'll be fine.πŸ€— In any relationship, there are crises, this is normal, because we all change.

That's very true, us trying that little bit harder should improve our relationship 😊