Sunflowers galore 🌞🌻🌻 Pushing through the pain 😑.

in #life β€’ 3 years ago

I have pushed myself today, I needed to get a few things done, I worked through my pain having several breaks. The storm we were expecting didn't arrive and we have another gorgeous day. I am by myself through the day with hubby working and my daughter is staying at her boyfriends. I have to take it easy and if I do anything I have to take my time .

I completed a little housework then rested until my pain had eased then went outside to empty my greenhouse as have quite a few Autumn Beauty Sunflowers ready to be planted out. I am growing a selection of Sunflowers this year:

Giant Red Sunflowers
Red Sunflowers
Teddy Bear Sunflowers
Autumn Beauty Sunflowers.

These are what I have growing at the minute And the photo below is how they are looking. I have the above Sunflowers mixed together so when they are fully frown there will be a array of colours and varieties.


ADDED AUTUMN BEAUTY.jpg

My greenhouse is now empty, i have 2 trays of seeds on my windowsill but there not ready to be moved as not strong enough plus we are still being warned about thunder and lightning storm with lots of rain.the weather forecaster said the same yesterday, the sky is sill blue, can't see a storm hitting us any time soon.

I have also added a full pot of Sunflowers in a heavy pot that stands next to my greenhouse. this will grow up the side of the Greenhouse.


Autumn Beauty SUNFLOWERS.jpg

I also need a packet of Golden Sunflowers to add to my line of Sunflowers. I am hoping to take the seeds from all my Sunflowers to grow next year. I find Sunflowers an easy flower to grow as long as they have support they will carry on growing.

I am still short of Lavender plants, I can't find a supplier, I am hoping I am not in to much pain so i can pop into a few garden centres, Hopefully they have some in stock.

I have a Bee and Butterfly corner that has quite a few Bee houses that are screwed to the fence, I also have Lavender plants that grow next to the houses plus a watering hole for the Bee's to get a drink of fresh water. if you see a Bee on the floor, give it a little drink of water, they will drink what they need then fly off. We all need to safe our buzzing friends and do what we can to keep them working. If you don't have much room add a few pots of there favourite flowers:

Lavender
Sunflowers
Borage
Aster
Cornflowers
Dahlia
Marigold
Foxglove

I am now going to have to go give my plants a good watering as looks like the storm is going to miss us. Once I have finished I have to take my daughters bird Sprout to bed, Once she is back in her cage and covered up i will then take my pups to bed. I am hoping tomorrow i going to be another lovely day, My Sunflowers love the sun.

Thank you for visiting. πŸ’ŸπŸ’Ÿ

hiveblogshare 4.jpg

Hubby is home now that mean rest time for me. He cooks my food for me and makes sure I am drinking plenty especially with the weather being so hot.

Sort: Β 

Thank you for sharing this awesome garden post, Did you know hive now has a community designed just for gardening.

We are working to build the #1 vegetable & Fruit gardening community here on hive.

Please use this link to get to the community.

Thank you 😊 I have subscribed to the community. Looking forward to reading some posts :)

What an awesome update on sunflowers, This is my first year growing them and I found they like a lot of water

They certainly do, they are such a beautiful flower :)

How many nodes down from the head of the sunflower do you cut it?

I cut about 2 inchs from the head leaving enough room to be able to hang it upside down. We are talking about when the plant dies to retrieve the seeds? 😁

Yes, kind of, to prevent from dying. Everytime it seeds it dies. But already i have some i clipped before seeding and they are growing again. Thank you for your input!

Thank you :)