Emergency Room Visit After Periwinkle Poisoning

in #life4 years ago

I've written about our horrible periwinkle vines here in the past and I've had yet another encounter with their evil. My husband and I have around 25% of our yard covered in a type of periwinkle vine that is poisonous. If you get near it you get a poison ivy type of itchy rash and if you get it's juices on you then you'll break out in an even worse rash.

Those F&^king Periwinkles

IMG_3216.JPG

I've found that I am seriously allergic to this poisonous plant. My husband can touch it and get a rash in the area that touched the plant, but if I touch it I get a rash all over my body that spreads and spreads and won't stop until I go to the doctor and get steroids. I ended up in the emergency room the other night because I accidentally pulled up some dormant periwinkles without knowing I was touching it. Within 24 hours I had a rash all over my body including my face. My eyelids both swelled causing my vision to blur. It was when I started feeling like someone was sitting on my chest that I decided to go to the ER instead of waiting until morning to go to my doctor. It was horrible. I've never had such a bad reaction to the periwinkles before.

Everything Is Dormant So I Didn't See Them

IMG_3233.JPG

It was so bad that the doctor and nurse who saw me both went "wow!" My face was so puffed up and red. They gave me a steroid shot and some steroid pills to take for a week. Boy, those steroids are some fun drugs!

I've been jacked up since I had the shot. I didn't sleep at all that first night and had extreme energy and feelings of euphoria. I was multitasking on 10 different projects. The next day I took a two hour nap then woke up ready to move! I cleaned the kitchen, wiped down the walls, cleaned all the doorknobs in the house, and so many other tasks I'd never normally do.

I finally crashed around 5 AM last night and today I feel terrible. The rash all over my body is still there and slow to clear. My eyelids are red and deflated looking and they hurt. I didn't take my steroid pills because I needed to let my body calm down. I hated being so energetic that I was bouncing off the walls. My feet are killing me where I ran around cleaning and doing so much work. My husband told me to take it easy for a few days.

So yeah...I hate periwinkles. I really don't know what to do about it. It's hard to kill off a plant that covers a 25% of 2 acres of land. I've poisoned off some of it near our house but there is so much of it. It's a very invasive plant.

Sort:  

Yikes! I didn't know that periwinkle is poisonous! I have it in my yard too, but I've never had a reaction from touching it. Maybe I don't have the bad kind. Maybe you can buy a hazmat suit and pull it all up.

There are many different types of periwinkle. The purple ones like mine, there are 2 types that look exactly alike and one is poisonous and one is not. I know it's not just me being allergic because my husband, my brother, and yard workers have all gotten a rash from it. Maybe I'm a bit more sensitive to it though. Maybe you don't have the bad kind. It's so invasive it's impossible to kill off. My husband is going to attempt to smother it out by putting cardboard over the top. I hate poison and it'd be too expensive to poison it all off because there is so much.

Ouch, that really sucks. I've never even heard of periwinkle vines before now. I can kind of relate to your experience though. When I was 15 or I had poison ivy so bad I was in the hospital for 2 days missed 10 days of school and got a bunch of steroids. Hope you feel better soon. There must be a way to clear you property of this monster vine.

Ouch! I'd hate to be in the hospital for this! The steroids I'm on have me pretty wired and sleepless so I'll be glad to be off them. I do feel better though now that I have them. I think I'll take one for today and be done with them and let my body finish healing on it's own.

Good grief, sounds worse than poison ivy and such...

BTW, I really would like to provide you with the ability to make colloidal silver...?

Wishing you the best, dear friend @marxrab...

😄😇😉

@creatr

Congratulations @marxrab! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 57000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 58000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!