A Bad Day At Drummond Castle

in #life3 years ago

1624994512287.jpg

Aloha me Hivers!!!

Forgive my almost criminal Hive silence. I am up in the bitter North of Scotland. Middle North actually, not the real North, I couldn't take being that bored.

We are staying at a cabin in the woods on the banks of a loch with the Good Lady's family.

It is tranquil and peaceful.

To break up the monotony of swimming, relaxing and beer drinking we decided to see a local castle. Drummond Castle to be precise.

It is famed for its ancient flower garden.

When one of the northern family suggested going there in its odd hooting voice, I thought - Why not, I like a bit of baking.

So off we went.

20210628_121753-01.jpg

On arrival it looked a bit bleak and frankly a little dull.

20210628_121844-01.jpg

I hope this isn't totally balls.

Was my initial thought as we tromped toward the gate.

And then we got through the gates and my breath caught a little in my throat.

The only balls this seemed to be was AMAZEBALLS.

20210628_122758-02.jpg

Hot quacking shits!? This place was stunning!

20210628_122918-01.jpg

A grand and ancient staircase led down from the 'house' to the grounds.

20210628_123014-01.jpg

20210628_123035-01.jpg

Which were laid out in a massive Saint Andrew's flag design.

I descended the stairs rapidly. This place was awesome!!

Then I stopped.

IMG_20210628_210859042.jpg

There were statues. Lots and lots of statues.

I always feel like statues are judging me.

I shrugged my shoulders. Don't be daft, Boomdawg, they're just statues!

20210628_123116-01.jpg

So I carried on. Silly statues. They ain't judging me.

20210628_123251-01.jpg

I turned a corner and the mother of all judgey statues loomed out in front of me judging me for every fucking thing she could imagine.

CONFESS!!

Echoed her awful shriek in my head.

I have nothing to confess!!!!

I mind yelled back.

CONFESS!!!

Her voice roared and crashed like a hungry sea.

20210628_123310-01.jpg

The weight of her regard bore down on me. The seconds seemed like hours. I could take it no more.

Alright... ALRIGHT!?? I had a wank in a Nun's bed when I was a teenager!!!

There was a ghastly silence.

Then a gruesome chuckle.

I hurried away. Were we done? Would they leave me alone now?

20210628_123441-01.jpg

It seemed so. I carried on through the gardens. The statues now almost alarmingly quiet.

20210628_123525-01.jpg

I came upon a bizarre obelisk. A dark and greasy pall of evil hung over it.

20210628_123539-01.jpg

On closer inspection, I realised it was a Hellraiser Stone. Hence, the devilish blades adorning every surface.

Fuck it, time to get out of this hell spawned place.

20210628_123710-01.jpg

As I hurried past the final statue of a small-cocked man standing with a giant butt-plug, I heard it's sneering voice

A Nun's bed??

Contempt oozed in the words.

It wasn't my fault. It was dark!

I scampered to the gate.

20210628_130340-01.jpg

As I left the place even the stoney balls on pedestals didn't seem to be lichen me very much.

For now...

Sort:  

Woww! What a garden :D The house was a tad small for my taste but hey.... those gardens!

Why do all the statues seem to be judging?? Imagine all of the people they have gazed upon and the secrets those people were hiding. I think your nun shenanigans will not be such a deal breaker lol

The gardens were the most amazing i have seen ever. Although, the statues did win because there are only so many fancy hedges and trees you can look at before you go nuts.

Maybe I went nuts!! :0D

Place looks absolutely stunning. I won't go there after dark though...Looks like that scene Voldermort was reborn in Harry Potter.

I did keep thinking that it was grand enough to have been in a movie. No chance world I be there after dark either!!

As I hurried past the final statue of a small-cocked man standing with a giant butt-plug, I heard it's sneering voice

It's cold 90% of the year there. Shrinkage occurs!!!!

Granted that is true but it actually tipped over 23 degrees here that day!! He had no excuse!

Talk to me once you've been rock hard for a decade. Something's gotta give.

🤣

That place is really stunning 😮

Those statues everywhere man, they probably change positions when your back is turned 🤣

I bet they do. There was literally one over twenty feet or so. Statue party!!

Should I feel bad about those people who were turned into stone, by the queen, or whoever does that shit over there nowadays?

No. You should be grateful that these bad folks are taken out the picture by the relevant Queenie of the day!

Were they truly bad people though? By the looks of it, those kids didn't even own clothes the day they got caught stealing grapes.

Those aren't grapes, those are brains. They literally tore the brains from people's heads and took them home to eat. They never even used salt, barbarians!!

That explains the smile.

We all smile when tugging on the head grapes I have been led to believe

I'm not sure if every time one shows teeth like that, it's meant to be interpreted as a smile.

I wasn't expecting content like this from you and I liked it. I'm not even sure if I'm commenting right.

I think you are but I do posts like this so rarely I'm not even sure myself!!!

I remember the one you did in the forest. Or about a forest. Something to do with a tree I think.

I think i did one of the trees. I like forests that way, they never tell

I've been here before. Interestingly this is really close to where I grew up.

Up Crieff way? It's a lovely place, I come up here every year or two. It's great for a little relaxing break!

You never said you were going to pop in, i would have made you a cuppa if you had knocked. Haha

Stick your statues where the sun don't shine!! :0p

Well that was rude 😒

You're right. I'm sorry. I should have also said and never darken my door again with your big fancy house and statues!!!

That's more like the Boom I know.. you had me worried haha

I like to keep people on their toes!! :0D

I should be so lucky can't bloody stand on 2 feet haha

Statues of people always creep me out, especially the little naked baby ones. I don't know why humans ever thought that would be a good idea. Liquor was probably involved.

If there is ever any doubt then liquor is always involved. At least, that's my excuse for it always being involved in my japes :0)

I am going to venture a longshot guess and really go out on a limb...I dont suppose the owner of said castle did his own landscaping lol.

Lol. Whilst we were there and a dozen folk mowed and weeded I had exactly the same thought!

Amazing photos beautiful place

Thank you very much, it was quite an experience

beautiful photos, what a beautiful place.

And to think, she kept the fish in a teapot for all those years!

Congratulations @meesterboom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 92000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 93000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

I suppose that walking through that castle you felt like a king, that's what I thought when I started reading, but to my surprise the statues make you remember your guilt ha ha ha, that of the virgin and very giant left you like a baby in relation to your bad actions ha ha ha, but we all have our fault, I hope you do not torment yourself too much, if I were you, I would stay away from the statues :)
Now seriously I thank you for sharing the photos, it really is a beautiful place.

It was an amazing place. I was happy to have seen it. If only they didn't have so many of those some monstrosities!!! :0)