How 30 days of wearing slippers saved my life !!!

in #life7 years ago

Dearest Steemians and most importantly #WOMENOFSTEEMIT,

I’m sure you’ve noticed I haven’t been around as of late, no new wine farms, nothing about cheese or my #WOMANOFSTEEMIT weekly feature. :(

Although I should be, I am not here to apologize but rather share my latest journey with you all. And what an extremely needed life changing experience it was…

I’ll try and keep this part short and sweet because this is not something I want to receive pity from but rather to share this emotional voyage which I hope in turn inspires you to ‘Check yourself before you wreck yourself’ :P

I have a history of depression which recently ‘flared up’ (actually it was about 6 months ago but I was so blinded by the pressures I had created for myself I completely missed it) and this time I discovered it came with some PTSD coated in anxiety. I slowly shut myself off from the world and the life which existed around me.

I then went to visit my psychiatrist who brought it to my attention that I can enter a psychiatric facility should I wish to. Lucky enough I have medical insurance which allows 21 days as in in-patient. He never mentioned that I need to stay there for the 21 days but rather gave me the choice of how long I would like to progress. I would be seeing him regularly as well as my psychologist - who happens to also be an angel BTW!

We spoke about the idea back and forth, I kind of resisted it at first. I had asked him 3 times “ Are you sure the walls aren’t padded and people walk around in straight jackets?” hahahaha

The very next day I ‘checked in’ and boy I wasn’t expecting what waited for me behind those lilac doors. A peaceful paradise which provided all the tools needed to ignite the fire in me again.

Each day was filled with sessions with both doctors, monitoring my mood as well as medication intake, checking blood pressure, exercising, group activities, arts n crafts, movie nights with fellow healing souls, spoiling myself and learning how to be self-aware with myself and others.They feed you like there is no tomorrow, you could easily roll out of there but when you learn to love yourself like I did, you realize your body is a temple with a slight chemical imbalance and that it should be taken care of.

Do you wanna know the best thing about this all? I could do it wearing my cosy slippers and no bra for all the days. #SLIPPERSOFSTEEMIT

All of this and most importantly the 200% effort I put in, ended up in 30 days which resulted in great friendships, an even stronger relationship with my special man and most importantly getting my life back!

I am not only 30 days sober (AND COUNTING) but also very present in the moment. I start every day with a new measurable intent. Annddd… if I fail today you know what, I try again tomorrow. It’s not a race and I have control.

This is not something I am ashamed about and nor should anyone be. Its simply to share that it’s ok to be weak and to accept defeat. When you open your eyes again you get back up and try try again. I will be forever grateful for the people and the positive space provided.

So #WOMENOFSTEEMIT, send me something inspirational, which gave you joy or made you realize your purpose in life. If you did it in your slippers even better hehehe . And I will be looking thru old posts and awarding women from the womenofsteemit pot and trying to carry on with the Monday womenofsteemit sessions.

Remember this, be kind with your words, never assume, don’t take things personally and lastly whatever you do, give it horns!!!!

I wish you all a wonderful path in life and I am absolutely too excited to show you what happens next.

Peace, Love and Light

@MELKAY

Sort:  

quote-1482711_1920.jpg

Hugs, Love, Peace, and Health!

Thanks for letting us into your life, I'm honored and blessed to know you!

I had noticed the other day looking through my feed that I hadn't seen anything from you and was worried a little. Computers crash, hard drives die, life happens... I'm so glad you're back on Steemit and things are going in a more positive direction!

As you said " It’s not a race and I have control.". A point we all too often lose sight of.

I don't have much to offer in terms of inspiration. If you look, you always find what you need, but not necessarily what you think you want!

You took control in the most positive way, slippers and all!

In my own life, I've had my ups and downs too! I've sought 3rd party help a few times to get back to where I needed to be. It can be hard and scary to do!

I have a check in person in my life. Old friend, a person I can call day or night and let off steam, get reassurance, and sort of recalibrate myself. She can call me anytime too! It's been working for us since the late 1980s.

Just like Steemit, we're all in this together!

lotus-1700557_1280.jpg

Hey. Only saw this post now. Was wondering why I hadn't seen you around for so long. My 80 year old mother became severely depressed last year and also spent 21 days (the magic medical aid number) in one of those same places you speak of. It was a godsend and she is also so much better. It gave me first hand appreciation of the terrible scourge that is depression - that can strike you at any age. Glad you are feeling better and take care of yourself.

Wow 30 days with slippers!? Crazy long haha!

Was nice meeting you at the Steemit meet up :)

Welcome back to Steemit and more important back to feeling better. It's brave of you to share your pain and struggle and even braver to take the step to get help. Depression runs in my family and I've had my own struggles and I know how it can feel like falling into a pothole and sometimes it feels impossible to find your way out. But you did and you did it wearing slippers. Good on ya. Keep taking care of yourself.

Congratulations @melkay! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @melkay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I hope you are doing well now, it sounded like a really great place, that's awesome. :-)

Congratulations @melkay! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!