You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Great Scottish Tradition Of "Taps Aff"

in #life7 years ago

8 degrees - that's a Scottish heatwave isn't it? I like the tradition of burning winter - sometimes I think she deserves it!
No customs here that I know of for celebrating Spring's arrival. I'm in Australia, and up north they are probably still going to the beach, but with my ancestors being partly Scottish, they chose the coldest part of Australia to settle. That's tradition for you :)

Sort:  

It is a heatwave lol. At least for this time of year. I always get heartened by the first time that the sun shines and you feel the warmth in your skin.

Burning winter is a splendid thing!

How cold is the coldest part of Oz? Go on, make me jealous :0)

Here in Melbourne, 8 degrees would be a cold winters day :D
Sorry! On the rare occasion less, with snow in the hills around. But not in the city. There are colder places but not too many people live there - like Tasmania, cold (by Oz standards) but stunningly beautiful.

HA, I kind of thought that would be the answer. I was almost dreading hearing it! That explains why a lot of Scots move down under as they say! I shall comfort myself with the heather strewn peaks of the highlands. And the cold brrrrr!! ;O)

Well I'm married to a Scot, from Dundee, so yes there are those who move down our way :) But the Highlands almost make up for the cold - and at least you guys build your houses solid and insulated! We still haven't discovered that science, lol.

Really, from Dundee!! Holy keek!! So am I, married to a Dundonian that is!! Except we live in Glasgow and not quite so far away. That is a splendid coincidence!!