Sort:  

I have a 3X optical zoom in my phone which usually give some for results, beyond that is digital mush.

I'm impressed with what phones can do. I've seen them used in conjunction with a telescope, although I don't recall the set up for that now. Yes, digital mush, but that's a thing with cameras also, got to have all these different lenses.

All the lenses put me off my big camera even though the pictures were stonking. I had a little telescope and experimented doing that. Its quite easy, you literally stick it in the eyepiece because it is a longer tube so the focal length usually works out ok and you take the pic! There is quite a lot of fannying about to make sure you get a good one though. In saying that, I was using a digital camera at the time as phones were shite. Might be quicker now you can just look at the screen

Yes, the lenses and hauling all that around. This is one reason I don't have a telephoto lens.

I had the feeling you had a telescope. I've always wanted a decent one. Sounds like a fairly easy set up and would be easier with a screen. The fun that I could have with that, which is most likely why I've restrained myself from buying a telescope.

Oh man, mine is rubbish!! It doesn't have the thing which ticks around weeks follows the earth's rotation. It is not until you get one that doesn't have it that you realise you need it bad!!!

Ahhh, you need the the good one. I heard just recently the speed of the earth rotation has increased and impacted time. Not sure about the accuracy of that, but I'd think that would mean all telescopes are now off even with those thingies (I have no idea what they are called, but I know what you mean).

Imagine a city of 14 million + a good telescope, yeah, I'd be in trouble.

I think it's an azimuth something or other. I am not sure if you call assist them so if the earth's spin has changed too much they will make a killing selling new ones!!