Grenoble part II Epicurean trip

in #life4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20191005_140441.jpg

I was writing this on the phone and hit post before finishing, so now i am in a rush to fix it and add the missing pictures.

Today (Last saturday) I drove 400 km again under the rain, but I will be posting about the place I was last week, basically because I have not exhausted the material I have from that trip.

IMG_20191123_173051.jpg

When I was there my friend Laura insisted we go to the best "fromager" in town to take a look, she's an epicurian like myself and loves good food, good wine and good service which is what define a good place and set the difference between good and great.

IMG_20191123_172928.jpg

This crèmerie is in the outskirts of Grenoble in a main Street, they have an amazing assortment of cheese and good wine to go with it, sadly for you I don't really like french cheese and I can't withstand the smell neither from cheese stores nor perfume stores.

So I only took a picture of the storefront from afar.

Aside it is a funny fruit store that made for the quichest storefront I have seen since the seventies.

IMG_20191123_172644.jpg
There is a baker store and pâtissier in front of the fruit store, however it is decorated in the eclectic Sweden/Danish style that in France usually is a big sign that you will be paying for overpriced industrial frozen shit.
IMG_20191123_172703.jpg
There is even a name for it, they call it Ikea food...

Well later that day I was alone walking around and wanted a coffee this area has a total lack of bars and coffee shops, but I remembered the Ikea bakers and desperate for a hot cup of dirty water decided to go there.

IMG_20191123_173055.jpg

As usual in France cleanliness I'd not an indicator of anything.

IMG_20191123_171840.jpg

But to my surprise (most people from the Val d'Issere are actually quite nice and talkative) after asking for my coffee a talking to the girl in the counter I discovered that they made the choice of the Ikea style and use high tech machines but they work with fresh produce from the area and using a mix of traditional and industrial techniques.

They take pride in respecting the product and to be honest 17€ Euros in pastries later I can say that they wear their name "Epicuria" with flying flags.

IMG_20191123_173102.jpg

So if you ever go to Grenoble you know where to buy fruit, cheese, pastries and bread.

IMG_20191123_173121.jpg

Warning: their coffee is as tasteless and bitter as all coffees in France like imagine an American watery coffee but made with charcoal instead of coffee beans.

I forgave them because I know the French and they would not have their coffee any other way.

IMG_20191123_173220.jpg

Also they gave me a macarrón with each coffee, those are little roundels of Meringe, a kinda sandwich and the fluo version is actual pistachio cream flavor.

IMG_20191124_193430.jpg

Drive by night, RUSH: Flight by night.

I had to edit this post in steemit.com and could not benefit from my usual funny use of tags, also i know i screwed by preposting it, but my internet has been playing hide and seek with me lately


By way of deception thou shalt make war.

"Where there is no guidance, a nation falls, but in an abundance of counselors there is safety."
Proverbs 24:6