DOING THINGS DIFFERENTLY

in #lifelast year

This time last year I decided to undertake my biggest investment–taking out over 90 per cent of my crypto portfolio to start my rideshare business. It was also an attempt to hedge against inflation and a potential crypto freefall, which happened.

Also, I wanted to do things differently. Most of my income for the past 3-4 years has been from crypto–hive specifically. I went from being a college student to the breadwinner of my life. This drastic change meant that the pressure on my little income increased. Thankfully this happened during the bull market and I did not really feel its full impact but I know the run was going to be short-lived and if i intended on maintaining my lifestyle, I would need to diversify away from this space.

The goal was to recoup my initial investment of around $6000 and reinvest it in my crypto portfolio. I don’t think that will happen this year as I have incurred some debts whilst running my business. I overestimated my revenue and underestimated my cost of operation.

Things have been quite stable for the past month and I am slowly gaining traction. I understand the business a lot better and come up with better strategies to meet my long-term goals. I believe the next 12 months would be great for me and my finances.

To be honest it has been a really tough year. At some point, i stopped dreaming because nothing was working. Thankfully, I have a very supportive partner who got me through this phase. Also, I gained an invaluable amount of knowledge and freedom. I could look at my crypto/hive journey more objectively and that was/is very important to me.

Prior to my rideshare business, I had to write every day and pander to people for upvotes. Although I enjoyed writing I hated the bureaucracy and nepotism even though it favoured me, and because of this, I wanted my business to work. Also, I knew the only way I could scale whatever I do here was to take away my dependency on the system.

I believe the years leading to the next bull run will be life-changing for me. It might not look like it now but once my ship is steady it will be an effortless ride to the top. So for whatever setback I am experiencing in the short run, I am going to gain 10x in the long run.

In retrospect, every challenge this year was a blessing in disguise. It is impossible to experience significant change when you are stuck in the same loop. It might not be what I expected but I cannot deny the potential for something bigger.

Image source

Sort:  

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 69000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!