We nearly had a house fire last weekend!

in #life4 years ago

Good morning fellow Steemians!

close-up-of-flame-536940503-59b2b3de845b3400107a7f27-5b967c9546e0fb00254ed63b.jpg

So last Saturday my other half was cooking a roast in the oven. All was going well, until she shouted me from the kitchen say there is a fire in the oven. I went in to the kitchen and there was a small fire in the bottom of the oven. My forst thought was to shut the oven door, to stop the oxygen from feeding the fire.

I left the door closed for a few minutes, then i opened it again to see if it was out. Then it started again. So i closed the door once again. I left it closed for longer this time. I re opened it then the flames wooshed up and were about 6 inches from the kitchen ceiling!

We got all the kids out of the house as there was thick black smoke everywhere and the fire alarms were going crazy! My first reaction was to chuck some water on it. But luckily my wife is trained in fire safety and stopped me. She gave me instructions to damp a load of clothes and towels under the tap and place them on the flames, which i did. And luckily it put the fire out. Luckily we managed to save our meal too.

We opened doors and windows to get rid of the smoke, and after that cleared we let the kids back in the house. I told my friend at work about what had happened as he works for the Fire brigade. He said we should have kept the oven door closed and phone 999. He said we were very lucky to have put it out and it could've ended in disaster. But he commended my partner in her quick thinking. There was no damage to the kitchen aoart from some black marks on the ceiling.

Always make sure your oven is completely clean on the inside, as we think the cause was hot fat dripping on someone in the bottom of the oven.

Stay safe everyone!

Brought to you by a proud member of
wpb2-1.png

Sort:  

Glad everything turned out fine. Once a buddy of mine caught his clothes on fire when he was trying lo light the gas stove... didn't start at first try, so he kept trying and trying, by which time the whole kitchen was full of gas... I was in the other room, just heard "woosh" and saw my buddy running by with his clothes on fire, just like in the cartoons. Luckily that one turned out fine too :)

Woooah ! Your buddy was lucky too dude. Thanks for your concern, we have an oven with 2 ovens in it. The fire side dosent work now but luckily we still have the other side :)