Serious question for vegans!

in #life4 years ago

Serious question for vegans!

Nope, I am not going to burn you down because you don't eat meat! So please keep reading and help me find the answer to a question that's been on my mind for a very long time.


vegan.jpg
Source


I am not vegan and to be honest, I don't think I will ever become one BUT... Yupp, there is a but...
I always ate huge piles of meat and I changed that the last year. I add days with no meat at all and on the days that we do eat meat, I use less meat. Not perfect but my way of trying to do a little better.
Sometimes I take the time to see how much work it is to be 100% vegan. So, I take my hat off to those who manage to live that way.


I also love the fact that you can buy more and more vegan items in the shop these days. I bought vegan Kwark the other day (Sorry I really don't know the english name lol ) and was curious to taste it. It was yummie and not at all what I expected it to be. Instead of animal thingies like milk they used cocos thingies and to be 100% honest, Imma but it again. But that is not what my question is about. I don't want to become Vegan but I want to learn more about it.


vegan1.jpg
Source

Finally, the question!

Can someone please explain the following to me. And please don't shoot me because I am seriously curious for the answers.
So, you don't eat meat, than why do most products to replace meat look like meat?
More and more items in the shops here look like meat but are no meat. You can now buy a whole range of BBQ vegan meat... So, what I would like to know is why does it have to look like meat?
In my mind this causes electric shocks. I kid you not!
Because if you dont wanna eat sausages then my buy something that looks like a sausage?
Is this to trick your mind? Is this so you don't feel left out on a BBQ? My question might sound funny but I don't mean it that way.
Someone made me vegan soup a few weeks back! It tasted amazing, the soup that is. The meatballs inside who tricked my mind, tasted like well not meat while I was expecting meat... So, the moment I chewed on it alarm bells went off in my head.
If you don't want to add meat then why add something that looks like meat?
I can't wrap my head around it! ((Lol, you might think I am an idiot by now))


vegan2.jpg
Source


This is how my mind works, kinda.
I want to bbq but I don't want to use meat.
I make veggie sticks like on the picture and throw them on.
I make a salad etc but I won't use meat or replace the meat.
I don't mind roasting a carrot or hell even a tree.
But now I see all these comercials with vegan bbq meat!
It does not work in my head.


Why do you replace your meat with something that looks like meat but you don't wanna eat meat?
Someone please help me out before I go nutsssss!

PoeticSnake blogs on Whaleshares and Steemit

🍎 Cast your witness votes!

You have 30 votes. Make them count.

🍎 Follow me on Social Media

Twitter | Instagram | YouTube
Whaleshares | CreativeCoin
Avatar created by @kookyan

divider - Join a community of content creators on Whaleshares

Sort:  

Vegan sausages and hamburgers helped my kid while transitioning towards a 100% vegan diet. I personally do not care for the shape or packaging. This is what is offered in the stores. I assume it is a marketing strategy of the manufacturers to have them look just like meat, therefore the switch will be easier, no one will feel left out. A matter of habit, as well maybe?

Thank you so much for you answer!
I think it will seriously help someone in a transition towards a vegan diet indeed. I did not think about it that way to be honest!

I think the main reason why they try to imitate meat is in hopes of getting meat eaters to try and also can help people that are trying to go vegan trasition and potentially feed their old cravings

That might indeed be the case. I never thought about it in that way. It's just the commercials here make it seem like they still kinda eat meat and that clashes in my head for some reason. And trust me, there is so much fake meat now that it just spins my head around lol