Do They Ever Come Back?

in #life4 years ago

I was out running errands the other day and saw a homeless guy whose clothes were shredded to the point of looking like he had just come off the battlefield. He was dragging some sort of duffle bag that was on it's last days too. I really felt bad for the guy as he was clearly not mentally well. I wondered, how he got there, will he ever be able to come back?

It was odd because after seeing him a few minutes later it was clear he was going somewhere. So that means some rational thought process was there, but how much? And why only certain rationale thoughts?

I remember once long, long ago while living in Seattle I had a bad trip on mushrooms. I thought I would never regain sanity and be trapped in the hell forever. Luckily I came back, but I know wonder if this is the plight of people in this guy's state?

Schneier_homeless.jpg
(image src - http://themycenaean.org)

Do you know anyone who ever came back??