Ask the Car Guy @socky April 23, 2019

in #life5 years ago

What is your car trouble?

I want to give back to Steemit community and provide some help on something that I know very well. Cars and how to fix them.

Engine.jpg

Please ask me about your car issue. Won't go into gear. Strange sounds. Don't know if you should take your car in to the shop. Just ask.

Grinds gears.png

Send me the make, model, and year along with car symptoms.

Please remember to VOTE and ReSteem

---------------------------------------

For a breakdown of how Steemit Rewards system works:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/simple-steemit-rewards-breakdown-how-it-works-since-hf20

For a breakdown of Steemit Keys:

https://steemit.com/life/@socky/do-you-understand-your-steemit-keys

For a breakdown of why Steem Power is Important:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/why-is-steem-power-important-beginners-read

How to improve STEEM payment system:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/introducing-the-hand-shake-and-how-it-can-revolutionize-steem-blockchain

Sort:  

I heard if my car has a turbo I need to wait about 30 seconds to a minute to let the oil settle. Is this true or just a myth? What is impacted if I don't wait for that time?

Yes you should. If you had a pyrometer gauge (exhaust temperature gauge), you would see just how hot the turbo can get. My truck for instance sees 400 to 1,100 degrees Fahrenheit while driving. The turbo has a bearing that is oil cooled. The turbo also sees extremely high RPMs. (tens of thousands of RPMs) so it is important for that bearing to work. As long as the engine is running, cool oil is pumped into that bearing. When you shut the engine down, a hot turbo can cook that oil because the oil is not constantly being circulated. If the car has been running hard just before shut down, then the exhaust side of the turbo can be very hot. It will cool down rather quickly when idling though.

Letting your engine idle before shutting down will help your turbo last longer.

Noted! Now since I haven’t been doing that should I let it cool down longer than usual? I don’t have a pyrometers gauge. I only was kinda do it for long trips but 20 or so which is my daily drive but I’ll for sure do it now.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is just generally a good idea to let a turbo cool before shutting it down. A pyrometer gauge does allow the driver to know exactly when the turbo is cool enough, but the pyrometer is meant for towing heavy loads. Towing generates extreme heat and on some trucks, the driver needs to not overheat the turbo. Your car will be fine and allowing extra time for cooling down will not make up for any previous shut downs.

Hopefully not too much damage was done. Thank you for you’re help I’ll let you know if I have more questions I know my sisters car needs help but that’s body work and needs a phone call to explain everything.

Posted using Partiko iOS

thank
i follback to you