Just another (birth)day: friends getting robbed, Vitalik and Sun, restaurant food in isolation

in #life4 years ago

Some birthdays are... more interesting than others I guess?


Friends getting robbed

Today it became clear what the rumoured HardFork is all about: details are here or in the code. It basically means some of my (and probably your) friends are getting robbed, their STEEM stake will be sent to an anonymous Steem account, and no-one really knows who the anonymous forkers are, who holds the keys to that account, and if these people understand what they're doing at all.

Doesn't matter that we all have a home on Hive now, losing STEEM that was worked for, bought, and had an incredible emotional investment behind them (4 years for most) is just something I can't even imagine happening.

Read some threads on twitter or some appeals on Steem if you want to read how some of them are feeling about this:

Letters from lawyers

Kudos for the quick letters being drawn up by @jpbliberty (the same guys leading the Google/Facebook lawsuit) warning witnesses and exchanges to think about the actions they're taking:

Splinterlands moving to Hive!

Man, can't even imagine how much of a headache the @splinterlands guys must've had from this whole 'fork from Steem' thing. @aggroed and @yapabmatt have spent the past few years building the top dApp in the crypto space (literally became number 1 active crypto dApp this week on @stateofthedapps and @dappradar) only to witness (!) Steem fork into Hive and then see Steem become an unreliable base for them to build a business on. Many saw this moment coming, or wanted it to happen, but today it was finally announced: @splinterlands is moving! Good thing we've already gotten used to them not being called @steemmonsters anymore: https://peakd.com/splinterlands/@splinterlands/important-splinterlands-update

Vitalik & Sun

Just a fun moment. Vitalik, a reliable clear-headed observer of the Steem/Hive debacle tweeted this: ~~~ embed:1262789824521687040 twitter metadata:Vml0YWxpa0J1dGVyaW58fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vVml0YWxpa0J1dGVyaW4vc3RhdHVzLzEyNjI3ODk4MjQ1MjE2ODcwNDAgfA== ~~~which actually felt like a little birthday present

Justin Sun then tried to be funny in return, which of course fell flat:

Fighting on Steemd

When the old gang (@roadscape, is that you?) is still in charge of your block explorer they can put a warning on top of it:
Screen Shot 20200519 at 23.45.54.png

Oh shit, but it was my birthday!

Well, with 'social distancing' still pretty much a thing in The Netherlands I was at home, so I had some time to peek on Twitter and Steempeak and Peakd to keep up with what was happening. But YES, I've definitely tried to celebrate my birthday by being spoiled by my boyfriend, eating pancakes for breakfast, getting a sampler of the favourite meals from one of our favourite restaurants delivered at home, drinking a beer, sitting in the sun, opening presents... And yes, getting distracted a little by Twitter again.

All in all I was surprised how much it felt like a birthday despite the weird times we live in. Only 7 more minutes to post this rambling piece of text or it will be posted on May 20th instead of May 19th, which, in fact, was the day of my birth [!CENSORED!] years ago.

Oh, for comparison: this was my birthday post last year: https://peakd.com/life/@soyrosa/its-my-birthday-5h2cocjz A little less eventful wouldn't you say?

Sort:  

We'll always have twitter:

What a shit-show :(

The difference between not receiving something, and having something taken away is lost on this lot.

Hopefully Hive can flourish and the loss will become less significant.

Happy Birthday!

"Hopefully Hive can flourish and the loss will become less significant."

I am sure it will be like this. But it must still hurts now of course :(

oh for sure. I have nothing compared to some of these guys and it would really hack me off if the tokens I'd earned through years of effort were to go poof.

And not just poof, transferred to be used by an account without your consent :-(

Yup :( I'm sure it'll distribute stake just lovely.....

Yup, going to sleep tonight knowing that when you wake up all that STEEM is gone to some anonymous account? That then can do whatever they want with that STEEM that YOU BOUGHT? Ouch. I wouldn't sleep at all. I saw some of the victims mention just now they'd rather send it to @null themselves than to see it used by someone else :-(

The difference between not receiving something, and having something taken away is lost on this lot.

I can see why it hurts to not receive 'a free thing' but I really don't believe it's hard to see how not receiving versus taken away something that in some cases was bought recently is NOT the same.

Tomorrow will be a sad day for Steem. But Hive will thrive so indeed the pain should heal in the end.

Thanks for the b-day wishes :-)

I know it´s hard but don´t let the craziness (all of them) spoil your big day Rosa ;) Happy birthday!

Haha! No, I didn't let it ruin my day - I had a great day all in all. I just had to write it all down, it was so much and sometimes I like to bring this kind of updates to my readers who might not be as crazy as me to follow it all from the sidelines :D Definitely weird feeling to see some users I have gotten to know personally are now becoming victims of this robbery.

Oops. That's too bad in this 21st century? Well it so sad to hear and see though. Do we still have lockdown around? People are hungry

Well, 'lockdown' is pretty lenient here and we're not hungry either, so the stress over here is low. But I can imagine it's different for many other countries with different economic and political structures.

definitely a more eventful birthday this year for you. Don't let it bother you and enjoy the day! Happy BDAY!!

Lol! Each year I look up the post from the year before, so next year I’ll be remembered of this! Curious where the whole history will be at by then :-)

this year i adapted a new rule and i am sticking to it. so as i woke up on 19th and sill not in bed sleeping, it is still 19th. that means i am not late to wish you a happy birthday :D

I approve of that rule - I’m still awake too so it’s still my birthday :D

Happy Birthday. Wishing you many happy returns of the day!!

Thank you! Many of those on The Blockchain too I hope! :-)

Happy birthday!

Happy Birthday to You! I hope you enjoyed your day in spite of the Steem Drama.

I still have 3 weeks and 4 days left to finish my power down, so even the 4 week PD requirement doesn't affect me.

I listened to Argoed's Town Hall on the matter, but in a pretty distracted way. To me, Steem died on the day of the first HF, and that has only gotten worse. This is complete lunacy, and I hope the chain doesn't seize for another 4 weeks.

Ahhhhh. Still, Happy Birthday and remember the two events are not in any way connected.

When you thought this couldn't go any lower, this HF happens; plain theft... and a shot in the foot (leg??), for after this I can't think of no one with a sane mind to invest in steem. One good thing thow, I was longing for the Splinterlands move to hive... and finally happened! Despite all of this, Happy Birthday! :)

A loss is a loss always, and the loss is much more painful if it is snatched away from you. Let's make HIVE great so that we can show to the world that decentralization is what we need.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

A small upvote from me and a huge happy birthday!

Congratulations @soyrosa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 34000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

How did I missed that?
HAPPY BIRTHDAY from Fotini and myself :)

what an insane birthday!