You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Post and the Words Some Will Read Someday

in #life4 years ago

We broke off into groups, I got to use an ax.

I think I remember a story of you using an axe before?

Glad your cabin is still up and standing. Fires are pretty serious business and it is generally far better to go for a long drive than to try and face them.

Take your time, see you soon.

Sort:  

I've used plenty of axes. All different shapes and sizes. But this time I didn't kill anyone.

There was still quite a bit of space between the fire and civilization. Big area. One direction was cabins, the other was miles of wilderness and marshland. The wind was blowing strong towards the cabins, so they put all their resources on this side, but unfortunately a lot had to burn in order to protect the properties. It'll grow back...

I will take my time. Good to see you though. Thanks for stopping in.

It'll grow back...

Sometimes I wonder what it means when we try to stop carbon pollution, but then millions of acres of trees burn every year.

Some tree seeds can't even grow without first being burned. I'm sure that evolutionary step began long before people even knew how to light fires. Totally natural.

Still stupid to poison the environment. Plants seem to grow better in a greenhouse, plus I hate winter. Antarctica has tree fossils. We're in the end of an ice age right now. When they attempt to scare people with climate change, they often talk about rising sea levels and how bad that is for coastal cities. Nature doesn't care about those buildings. Look at all the coasts. They've been eroding for thousands of years. I doubt we humans can turn this planet into Venus and it's not like we don't know how to build floating houses. Poison the fish though and that makes you an asshole.

Some tree seeds can't even grow without first being burned.

I thought they only existed in Australia. The aboriginals used to light fires to keep the bush healthy - Europeans thought they were pyros.

Still stupid to poison the environment.

Indeed, adding to the issue doesn't help - but I wonder how much we can affect this particular metric. I think we should focus on pollution in general.

Poison the fish though and that makes you an asshole.

Because of this.

First nations in Canada used to burn the prairies. That's what helped feed the millions of buffalo that used to exist here. Technically those herds weren't 100% natural. People helped with fire, over the span of centuries.

I don't know how much people are changing things, and how much is natural, but I'm sure it's a combination of the two causing changes. People are much like an active volcano, but more like slow and steady rather than a massive burst. Still enough oxygen though, because you can't have fire without it. Fire seems quite common these days. Is anyone measuring oxygen? More of that stuff and this entire place will burn, which in turn helps create a balance again. Crazy how that works, when you think about it.

Pure poison. Created in labs. We don't need that stuff killing everything. Drugs in our water supply because they get flushed? Well that's what you get for drinking out of the toilet I guess.