The Story Of A Peculiar Mild 'Late Winter' Snow Of April 2021 In My Hometown, Suceava, In Bukovina, Northeastern Romania

in #life3 years ago (edited)

I suppose you can call what happened in early April this year in my hometown as a late winter snow (although we've previously had a few this March as well and it isn't that unusual for the climate of our region to have snows during March too). Therefore, this is the brief story of a snow which really took me by surprise as I thought spring was just settling in during the beginning of this month of April 2021.

The peculiarity of this story relies in the fact that, normally, snows cease in my region as March comes to an end. For other types of climates out there in this world, especially those in southern and southeastern Europe, to have mild snowfalls during late March is indeed a rarity as winter comes to an end formally there in late February, leaving room for more warmth and sunshine for the forthcoming month of March.

As Bukovina borders Transylvania and finds itself at the crossroads of Eastern and Central Europe, it attracts climatic influences stemming from other frozen lands, most notably those located far eastward than neighbouring Ukraine. The aforementioned, coupled with the predominantly mountainous and hilly landscape of Suceava County, makes for an ideal landing area for both heavy and mild snowfalls, all too bad nowadays we're all living in the COVID-19 pandemic dreadful times.

Sticking to the main point of my short HIVE post, I just wanted to share my visual memories that I managed to photograph on my way to the university several weeks ago, when a late winter snow (given that I hardly have any other manner of naming it) literally took me by surprise just after I woke up.

That being said, without further ado, here are a few late winter glimpses from Suceava, Bukovina, northeastern Romania during early April 2021. Hopefully you'll enjoy my photography skill as well! :)

IMG_0583.jpg
The inner garden of campus USV (Ștefan cel Mare University of Suceava) during a "late winter" mild snowfall (so to put it best) on 7 April 2021

IMG_0584.jpg
The football field pertaining to USV (Ștefan cel Mare University of Suceava) during a "late winter" mild snowfall (so to put it best) on 7 April 2021

IMG_0585.jpg
A willow tree with its snowy branches near the football field pertaining to USV (Ștefan cel Mare University of Suceava) during a "late winter" mild snowfall (so to put it best) on 7 April 2021

IMG_0587.jpg
The inner park outside my place sparsely covered in snow on 7 April 2021

IMG_0592.jpg
Areni Park outside of the main campus of USV on 7 April 2021

IMG_0590.jpg
Centre for Touristic Information of Suceava in Areni Park on 7 April 2021

IMG_0591.jpg
Centre for Touristic Information of Suceava in Areni Park on 7 April 2021