Wordnesia and a moment of panic

in #life6 years ago (edited)

One of my greatest fears is losing my mind. The risk of dementia increases as we age, and as I am currently in my mid-forties, that worry is constantly in the back of my mind.

Recently, I was doing some research for my next niche project related to health. As I was typing and reading my potential list of keywords, I stared at that word.

Health.

Wait, what? This is weird?! I tried pronouncing the word as it was spelt.

Heel-th? He-ayl-th? Huh-l-th??
What the?! Why would I spell it h-e-a-l-t-h?!

I had to Google "health meaning" and it was, in fact, the correct spelling.

BUT I DIDN'T RECOGNISE IT!

So I used Google Translator to translate the Malay word of health ("kesihatan") into English. Again, the letters HEALTH appeared.

I STILL DIDN'T RECOGNISE IT!

6eb25e48da1727d86c6f81bf2f5be0d5.jpg
(img src)

Eff! I thought to myself, is this an early onslaught of Alzheimer's?!

My breathing was short as I did another Google search. This time, I asked Google "sometimes i don't recognise words".

And that's when I learnt about wordnesia: a strange phenomenon of blanking on the spelling or meaning of a common word. Apparently, it can happen to anyone and especially when you're focused on reading or writing. Your brain slows down from automatically recognising the word patterns, and starting to focus on the detailed arrangement of the letters instead.

I believe this was my first time experiencing wordnesia. Darn, it gave me quite a scare. I guess I need to play more Sudoku and exercise more often.

Have you ever had wordnesia before?

LIKE WHAT YOU READ? Then check out my previous post: https://steemit.com/life/@webgrrrl/i-won-t-pretend-i-understand-depression

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by WebGrrrl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I had no idea that this actually existed as a real thing! In the past, I remember having mind blanks in spelling really simple words like “the” which always surprised the hell out of me! Thanks for sharing this.