Fishing therapy - Fisherman's Log

in #life3 years ago (edited)

Stress was building up. There are lots of things going on in our lives that overwhelm us, scatter our thoughts and build tension in our chests. When this happens I usually resort to doing something that relaxes me. It's time to hit the water for some fishing therapy. It's kind of like that therapy where you sit on a couch and tell a psychologist what's troubling you. Only with fishing therapy you are sitting on/in a kayak and the fish listen to your troubles.

kayak.jpg
Time for some therapy

A friend and I set out just after lunch. We had the fishing spot picked out and the types of fish we wanted to catch. Often times you go out with a game plan of what fish you'd like to catch only to resort to any technique to catch anything that will bite. I was only bringing two rods. One rod for bass fishing and one for crappie fishing. But the main purpose of this trip was to just relax.

The sun was beating down on us but there was a steady cool breeze that made the heat completely bearable. Any tension that I was feeling prior to this trip left my body once my kayak left shore. I think it was a combination of the floating sensation, being out in nature and doing something I love that contributed to the calming feeling. Aside from the few expletives I yelled when a hook went into my thumb, it felt great to be away from stress.

As clouds slowly rolled in the air grew cooler. I don't remember seeing clouds or any storm in the forecast so I just keep an eye on them. I paddled over to one of the many trees laying in the water. I figured there has to be a fish or two under or near it. The water near a branch that's sticking out of the water rippled and this small head poked out. Snake!! It saw me and started it's long but quick journey to the other side of the body of water. I felt relief that it wasn't coming towards me. I've seen videos of kayakers being harassed by a snake and it could be terrifying.

We are about an hour into our fishing trip and neither of us caught anything. I did have two bites on a minnow that I setup on a bobber but couldn't hook whatever it was. I've been fishing beside this tree with no luck. Time for one more cast and then I'll move on. I cast the bass rod out alongside the tree and work the plastic creature bait like it's a crawfish. I make the lure exhibit short movements by lightly jerking the rod tip while reeling in any slack. BOOM! Whatever ate the bait chomped down on it and took off. My line started screaming off my reel. I adjusted the drag on the reel and started carefully fighting the fish.

bass.jpg
17" Bass

This is the first fish of our trip and I yell out to my friend, "Fish on!" He looks over just as the bass jumps out of the water shaking its head to try to dislodge the hook. I just realized the fishing line I have on this reel is not thick enough for me to horse a big fish in so I have to change my technique to a sort of give and take. I give the fish just enough tension to ensure the hook stays set but not enough where a head shake breaks my line. This fish did not tire easily and it took me about 10 minutes to get him alongside the kayak so I can pick him up to remove the hook and get a selfie.

There's a fishing term when you go fishing and catch nothing where they say that you "got skunked". Well, it felt great to get the skunk out of my kayak. Catching a fish like that, especially when you got skunked the last few times you were out, energizes you. You have an adrenaline rush while trying to catch the fish and a thrilled feeling of accomplishment when you finally pick the fish up out of the water.

We fished for another hour without a bite. Then, just before we started paddling to shore, the bobber I had floating around with a minnow under it went under. I was eating a piece of beef jerky at the time and in the excitement that beef jerky fell to the bottom of the lake. I gave the rod a slight tug to ensure a good hook set but not so hard that it ripped the fishes lips off. Crappie are sometimes called "paper mouth" because their mouths are so thin and delicate. Sure enough I had a fight on my hands. This rod is even lighter tackle than I used for the bass so I still had to perform the give and take. After a few minute fight this crappie was ready for his selfie.

crappie.jpg
9" Crappie

After catching the crappie we decided to call it a day. Dark clouds were starting to roll in and thunder was rumbling a short distance away. It was a great trip to just get away and do some fishing therapy. The fish heard my problems and struggles, helped me work through it and now I'm able to feel some mental relief. I'm excited for my next trip to the fishing spot to release some tension and worry.

Sort:  

Congratulations @wizardofcheeze! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!